Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-01-07 - 6.30pm��previous entry��next entry

More cloth nappies and photos

Yes, another entry in my "not really pregnant" diary, because I have more photos to post :) How excited was I when I saw I had entries in my new guestbook?!!! Hehe, I am such a kid. Thank you soooo much Vikki and Sharon for signing it, I was mighty thrilled to read your messages! :) Sharon, I know the fabric you mentioned about your aunt's nappies. I am hopefully gonna make covers or all-in-one nappies out of that sometime. And I am hoping to make my own baby food too, when the time comes. I have been looking into it, but it's a ways off yet. We haven't got a food-processor yet but we're gonna get one that will do a good job on baby food.

Oh yay I have been nappy-making!!! I love to make nappies. I can see this is going to become an addiction, hehe! So far they are all prefolds. I still don't have the patterns for All-in-Ones or fitted nappies through the post yet. I ordered a pattern for HB-home (honeyboy) diapers. You can read about them at the link, but basically they are all-in-one nappies, with a fleece outer. Basically fleece nappies! Yay! I think they look so lovely and soft, and fleece is naturally watertight so no leakies. They look haaard to make, but I will have a go when the stuff arrives. Also I ordered a pattern for Cuddlebuns which need a cover or wrap over them. I think the pattern includes a thingy for a cover, but I also want to order a PooPockets pattern (love the name!). They do great covers and wraps, so I would like to make some of them.

Jessica says that you need 2-3 dozen prefolds if you're going to be using those mainly, so I have quite a way to go yet! Yesterday I made another nappy. Each one I make is too lovely to stop fiddling with (?!) until I make another one and then that's the one I fiddle with. Heh. Yesterday's nappy is made out of another flannel that I used yeeears ago for other stuff. I used a print on the outside and plain white on the inside, and the soaker pad is umm..... trying to remember!..... towelling I think. And flannel. Here it is:

So yay, I am really pleased with it. These nappies are soooo soft!! But I know they'll get stiffer as they're washed and used a zillion times. Anyway, I went shopping for fabric yesterday, well actually it was for food and to the post office, but I, er, sort of got side-tracked and walked half a mile into town and ended up in the fabric store!! Hehe! So I bought a little bit of two gorrrrrgeous flannels, with sleeping teddies on them. I got a metre of blue and half a metre of pink. And I found some lovely cream stretch terry towelling so I got a metre of that. Actually it worked out really well because some of the stretch terry had a fault in it so they charged me half of what it should have been! Yay!

So today I have made two nappies!!! One is out of the pinky stuff which is sooo lovely and soft, much softer than my old flannels. I used cream stretch terry for the inner, because it's really good and absorbant, and the back of stretch terry towelling is super soft and smooth, so I used that side to go against the baby's skin. The soaker pad is old towelling and a sort of T-shirty material that I got from cutting up an old top that was going in the bin otherwise. This nappy felt so lovely when it was finished that *I* wanted to wear it!!! Hehe! Here it is:

It's very cute and girly so I guess I will need a girl to go in it or something (?!!). Not that I care too much about putting specific genders in specific colours. I don't have a preference really. I would like both girls and boys amongst my children, but healthy babies are more important. I have to say, there is a teeny weeny leaning towards a little boy in my baby-saturated mind..... Hmmm, yeah. Although Neil keeps saying "she" without realising it when he refers to a baby of ours, even though he says he has no preference. Hmmm (again).

Well anyway, I seem to be inclined to waffle here, so I will get on with it! The last nappy I made today was the hardest to sew. I made one out of the cream stretch terry. I used it facing outwards (the towelly side) for the outer part, and faced another piece inwards for the bit against the baby's skin, so that it's soft and scrumptious (like the pink nappy). The soaker pad is an old bathroom towel. It was darned hard to sew with the machine because it is soooo stretchy, and it kept on bunching up or overstretching (and annoying me greatly!). But I think I got it in the end, and I'm pleased with the result. I want lots of plain nappies as well as patterned ones. They'll all be covered up with something simply gorgeous that I make (Um, I hope!) so they won't be on display or anything. Well, here's number four:

And prefolds are soooo straightforward, I was really surprised when I found that out! They are flat when open, with a thicker middle third which is the soaker pad. That way they wash and dry out really thoroughly and easily. Here is what the pink prefold looks like before folding (bit dark but you get the gist):

It probably sounds really silly to be so excited about nappies. But oh well. I just am! I know the novelty will wear off, that's why I am getting started now. I know myself too well in this kind of thing. I will gleefully make nappies, say ooh about six of them probably, maybe 8 or so at best. Then the joy will fade slightly and I'll stop making them at such a rate. Then I'll get fairly bored and stop altogether. The stoppage time usually lasts me anything from 3 to 9 months (!!) so I am glad to be starting this early, because if I have 20-30 more to make (!!!!!!) then I could end up hugely pregnant and finishing them off like a chore to get them done in time. So yeah. I hope I am planning sensibly by doing this!

Anyway, here endeth the nappy rant for today :)

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25