Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2007-09-10 - 9.51pm��previous entry��next entry

Bleeding update

Quick update to say:

No scan today but all went well at the hospital. My bleeding was just brown/pink spotting this morning, but at lunch time I had more red bleeding suddenly. Neil came home from work late morning - he just decided his job sucked and he was coming home to help me with the boys while I went to the hospital! Which was WONDERFUL, for me.

I went around 3pm and was there 2 hours with all the waiting. Neil and the boys stayed at home, which was good considering the wait!

I got checked by the midwives (blood pressure 123/68, pulse 90, Beanlet's heart beating away happily, normal-feeling tummy, etc), and then waited ages to see the doctor. I took a book because they told me the wait would be long, and I actually had a great time! That sounds crazy, but I didn't feel anxious about things at ALL while I was there. I could feel Beanlet kicking and moving so I knew he/she was fine. It was lovely to just be ALONE for a while without having to worry about the boys. I could people-watch for ages, which was great! I love people-watching, especially in hospitals! And I read my book and I haven't had chance to read in a long time.

The midwife got called away when I first laid down on the bed in my little cubicle, for her to listen to the baby's heartbeat. She came back 10 minutes later SOOO apologetic! But I had had a great time just lying still on a comfy surface with no distractions whatsoever! It was quite blissful! I listened to things going on around me from behind my curtains, and enjoyed the rest and comfort! I told the midwife it was nice to have a rest :)

Anyway eventually I saw the doctor, and he was really great. He was young with a funky hairstyle (!) and reeeally knew his stuff. I felt so happy to have such a competent doctor. He was really easy going to chat with too. He felt my tummy again, and then told me he wanted to do an internal examination to look at my cervix. He kept asking if that was okay with me. I said, "Oh yes, go ahead - I've been there and done that before!" Apart from that they're painful, I don't mind internal exams at all. They don't make me feel awkward with the doctor or anything. Anyway he brought a midwife in as a chaperone. It was PAIN FREE! Yay! And he said I have cervical erosion. He said that's a lot more common during pregnancy because of the hugely increased blood volume, and in particular the increased blood supply to the cervix during pregnancy. Cervical erosion is usually just a raw patch on the cervix which can ooze or bleed if aggravated.

Nothing had happened to aggravate my cervix but he said it can just happen with no trigger. Anyway he said he saw no bleeding of any sort coming from the cervical opening (yay!) but the entire outer ring of my cervix was raw! It makes me think OW but I don't have the nerve endings, so it's okay! ;) He said that could very well account for the increased CM with the bleeding, and it probably all came from the actual cervix, so that's a relief! There's nothing to be done about cervical erosion anyway, so hopefully it'll just calm down soon. He said without a scan, he can't rule out that it MIGHT be something additional going on inside like an extra bleed, but at 18 weeks the chance of miscarriage is so slim and he could hear the baby's heart beating and I can tell him that the baby is kicking and moving fine. So the main thing is just to know that the baby is okay in there. He said if he tried to get me a scan, "they" would decline the request based on the fact that the management of my case would not be altered by having a scan now. Also I am having a scan in 3 weeks and am not bleeding heavily, so it's all fine to wait. I'm happy with that.

I really did not want to find out Beanlet's gender without Neil with me!

I did a urine sample when I arrived and a couple of hours later, right before I left, they told me that the sample was kind of cloudy so maybe it was contaminated a bit, and asked me to do another one, being careful to make it a MID-STREAM sample. I went and did one, but I knew that I had made sure my first one WAS mid-stream (I always do that), and also I know my urine has been very cloudy lately. So I returned minutes later with an equally cloudy sample, and they tested it anyway. It was + for white blood cells and ++ for blood, so that COULD be contamination, but they have sent it to the lab for culture anyway. If it comes back positive for a urine infection they will contact me and I have to take antibiotics. I am not crazy about that, but at least my boys will get hardly any of it through my milk, since I hardly have any milk left now.

I am a bit crampy today in general, which isn't likely to be the bleed because it's probably cervical erosion. Plus I feel really queasy tonight. It isn't sore to wee at all, but I am going crazy frequently, especially at night. So, I have to call them if my symptoms of a potential urine infection get worse, or if I have any new red bleeding, etc. They gave me a 24-hour number - the same number for the delivery suite!! I would feel mighty silly phoning that line at 3am saying, "Well, I'm 18 weeks pregnant and it hurts a bit when I wee...."! That's a busy labour ward and the line is for women who are about to have a baby in the middle of the night!

Anyway, so all is basically well. Neil finally took my belly pic just a moment ago, but he's on the computer (where I upload photos) and I'm on the laptop, so I can't upload it tonight. Hopefully tomorrow though!

Thanks for the messages! I will update again soon!

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25