Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-06-16 - 7.23pm��previous entry��next entry

Slings and still counting down :)

Thank you Mandy for your guestbook entry, and Nicola for your email. Nicola, your email really helped a lot! Will reply soon, just v. behind (you know what I'm like!). Sorry!

Okay, latest decision is try to conceive as planned, this month. Which makes..... 11 days to go till I'm fertile, that is, if my period arrives tomorrow. It's always either a 27 day cycle or 28, and today is day 26. Pffffhh, swings and roundabouts! But I feel a lot more peaceful about things, and d'you know, I am so glad that I had this confusing couple of weeks. Because I think it was necessary for me to stop focusing so much on my own goals and look more to God. Neil and I were praying about it last week, and on Sunday I had someone pray with me after church about it. And then today Sue came round (lady from church) and talked with me and prayed with me about it some more. Lately I feel so much more relaxed and at peace with the idea of conceiving when God decides it's the right time, whenever that may be. It may be this month, but it also may not. You guys may have noticed that earlier this year I was really fighting the idea that I might not conceive right away when we wanted to, but things have changed since I turned to God more over the whole having-a-baby issue. God is good. It's a fact.

Anyway, the other thing to consider is my allergy treatment, and right now we are actually considering delaying that, after Nicola's email today (hope she doesn't mind me saying that pregnancy did wonders for her allergies!) and then when Sue prayed for me a few hours later she felt that I should consider delaying the treatment till I knew whether pregnancy would improve things or not, or at least until I knew whether I was going to be suffering a lot with early pregnancy symptoms like morning sickness, because if that wasn't too bad and I still had allergies, I could then choose to have treatment at that point. Treatment is expensive at this hospital so if I wait and things improve then I'll be saving us a lot of money! So I think that's what we'll do. As ever I feel like I need a few days to see how the idea settles, and to pray about it some more, so I'm not going to cancel my appointment just yet (it's on Saturday). So long as I do it by Thursday then someone else can get my appointment from the waiting list, so that's okay.

So it seems like all is going pretty much full steam ahead for trying to conceive a baby later this month! It's kind of exciting! I have started taking my temperature again because someone mentioned to me (it might have been the very wise Nicola again!) that taking my temperature would give me some indication of whether I'd conceived or not - i.e. it wouldn't drop down just before a period if I'd conceived. So anyway, I'm temping again. My temps are nice and high right now, but they should drop tomorrow for my period I think.

I made my first fleece Redrap replica - it's light blue and it's soooo soft! I used Malden Mills fleece. You are all so thrilled about my fabric choices, I can tell. But oh well. I like writing about it! Anyway, my "Blu"rap is fab, I am really pleased with myself. I think my sewing is still improving because this one is so like the original and I never used to be able to make a great nappy or wrap on the first try, so yay! I also made another of my own newborn nappies with a cute flannel print and microfleece. I have so much fun making nappies. I can't wait to use them.

I am getting three different slings for my baby, I decided a little while back. I watched the Attachment Parenting boards to see which slings mothers like best, and I read the info on the different slings and I looked at photos of the fabrics. And I am getting three different ones because they are all different and all raved about, and I want some choice to see which my baby and I prefer the most. I think Neil will "wear" the baby a lot too, so I want to see what he thinks as well. Anyway, the three slings I want are the Sling Easy, which is kind of like the Maya Wrap, and also I want a Wilkinet, and a Baby Bjorn carrier. Slings don't seem that cheap so I have been looking out on the buy and sell forum at UKparents (do I mention them enough?!! Hehe!). Last week I saw an advertisement for a Baby Bjorn carrier for �17 (they cost �48 new), in good condition, so I bought it (after talking it through with Neil of course!). And it arrived today! I am so pleased because you wouldn't know it had been used, it's in such great condition. I washed it this afternoon and hung it on the line, just because it's second hand and I'm picky! But I wore it all morning (yeah, you know what I'm like!) after I figured out how to wear it, sometimes just empty, and for a little bit *cough* with a heavy bottle of lemonade (dressed in a nappy) in it. Gosh that was embarrassing to admit! Well when did I say anything about being obsession-free?!! Anyway I love what I bought. I can't believe what a great deal I made, and it is so cute. It's navy and has sort of tartan lining. Actually I'm sure there's a photo I can paste if I look around a bit online..... Yup, here's one:

Computer crashed when I tried to load that photo (therefore no photo, but trust me, it's gorgeous), and what with me being somewhat PMSy, I just got cross with it and refused to reboot it - haha, take that, stupid computer! Right. So hence it is now several hours later that I'm finishing this entry! Anyway, Neil is now home from work and we've both tried the Baby Bjorn on for each other and marvelled at it's tinyness, etc, etc. Neil looks surprisingly sexy wearing a Baby Bjorn carrier! *blush* (should I say that kind of thing here?!!). I don't know what it is. Something about big strong men and tiny babies. Strength and vulnerability? Or just me having maternal squidges and imagining this man cradling our tiny baby close to his chest. He says the baby is sure to suffocate that close to him. *sigh* Of course it won't. But it's so sweet that he is getting all clucky and concerned about these things. Hmmm. After that, I talked to him about Sue's visit and stuff, and checked (for the ten zillionth time) that he is still okay with trying for a baby this month - poor guy, I must ask him this every other day. I hope I don't drive him too crazy! But he says it's fine. So we have ten days to go from when I get my period. And I have cramps. Weyhey!! I never loved cramps like I do today :) Periods? Pah! Bring it awwwwn!!! ;)

I can't think what else to write but it's all good. I can't wait to get my newborn size kissaluv in the post and my froggy wraps from the States. I should stop spending money now. But cloth nappies are so much fun.

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25