Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-02-28 - 4.15pm��previous entry��next entry

Baby clothes (couple of photos)

Thank you Lizzy, Ash, Deborah and Heather for your lovely guestbook entries :)

I didn't win the bid on the carseat which turns out to be a good thing, because as Lizzy pointed out, used carseats aren't proven to be safe. If they've been in an accident they are not safe for use again, and you often can't tell if a used one has been involved in an accident. Thank you Liz! So I'm glad I didn't win the bid. I will wait till the sales and buy a new one from a shop. Probably Christmas actually - at least I should actually be pregnant by then!

Clothes - I am still buying tons at eBay and UKparents!! It's soooo addictive! Hehe! But I have made lists this week of what I need, what I have already, and so on. This is going to give me a quick reference if I see something adorable for a good price and I simply don't need it. In England, baby showers are not really done, it seems to be an American thing? I've never heard of anyone having one here anyway. So although I am pretty sure we will get some little clothes and toys from people as "new baby" presents after the birth, and some things from family, I can't hold off buying things incase of baby shower gifts, etc.

So I am doing really well on budgeting!!! I have all the vests and sleepsuits I need for a newborn, 3-6 months, and 6-12 months! I just need a few more for 0-3 months. I have a couple of bibs (still need more) and a few pairs of booties. I have one hooded towel (need 2-4 more apparantly) and lots of cute outfits, but I am making sure I keep some things open, so that I can buy some new outfits when I'm pregnant. The amount of money I have spent on all this stuff is so tiny, I am so pleased. The main things I am not buying until I'm pregnant are very warm clothes like snowsuits and coats. Warm clothes can be necessary even in the summer in England, the weather can be so rubbish and chilly. But even a really bad summer would not necessitate a snowsuit!! And since I don't really know when we will conceive (although I HOPE it's July/August), it's a bit silly to buy seasonal clothes before I'm pregnant. Having said that, I have bought a couple of short dungarees which are kind of summery, but hey, they might not even get used in the summer if it's bad weather! So shorts are okay I guess. Anything I don't use will simply get put away for baby number 2.

This week some of my purchases have started to arrive, which is very exciting for me!! My postman is starting to think I'm really popular, hehe! At Ash's request (and my own pleasure!), here are a couple of photos of the latest arrivals - 2 pairs of 6-12 month dungarees (aren't they lovely?!), a red fleece sleepsuit with Father Christmas embroidered on it (6-9 months) and a gorgeous little pink all-in-one outfit with teddies embroidered on it (3-6 months)!! The reds in the photos are bright for some reason, especially the plaid dungarees - they aren't nearly as bright as that!! Those ones are so pretty actually:

They have been in the laundry already - for some reason I love to see little clothes on my radiators. I remember when I became a Christian when I was 19, a lady from church with four children under the age of five (!!!!) often invited me round in the day, and I loved babysitting for her. I remember being envious of her radiators all decked with tiny clothes drying out. Sounds silly, but little things like this stick in my memory and I can't seem to wait for my turn! So yay for little clothes on my radiators!! :)

Somebody at UKparents offered a free pine swinging crib (wow!) to anyone who would collect from them asap, as they are desperate for the space. A free crib. Wow. Neil and I were planning to use a Moses Basket instead of a crib, because they are much more suitable (IMO) for a tiny baby, much more cosy-looking and pretty too. Plus lighter to carry and cheaper! We were set on a beautiful Peter Rabbit one, but using a crib would mean no Moses Basket. However cribs are okay, and we just need SOMETHING next to our bed that the baby can sleep in. So we are going to pick it up, next Sunday! It's about an hour's drive away so it's not too bad. The good thing is, if it's too big or not to our taste, we will be able to sell it on eBay for whatever it fetches, since we are not in a rush to get rid of it like these people are. That will help our funds on the Moses Basket. But I hope we like the crib and it's okay for us anyway.

I have my period today - yaaaaay!! Five periods left, March, April, May, June and July. Then we start trying to conceive. Looking at all those months in the way makes me feel like it'll take forever for July to come round. But I'm sure it won't. I am going to make some more nappies soon - it's been a while since I made any now. I love lists, and checking off what is ready and what isn't.

Last night I had the weirdest falling-asleep experience! Just as I was dropping off, all these names were whirling around in my head and I was trying to catch them like leaves in the wind. So weird. It was like a jigsaw puzzle or something - a game of match the first name to the middle name. I'd put two together and then one would blow away and I'd pick another name up but it would be a different one. Hmmm! I did go to sleep thinking about names so that's probably why. We know the full name we'd use for a boy, except that I occasionally have a "thing" for this other name too. Neil doesn't like it though, so I should just forget it and stay with the one we're both decided on. I happen to love it but it's quite popular, and that grates me a little. Girl's names..... aaargh! I have a "short"list of about 20. Neil likes some and not others. He is pretty easy-going with names, but he doesn't like some of the Bible names I like because he says they make him think of men with white beards and stuff (?!!). Tsk. I like too many names. I don't think I will tell anybody names until we have the baby, because I'm like that (!), but I can tell it's going to be extremely difficult not to as time goes on!

Well I have nothing else constructive to say, just yay, baby clothes!! I am going to bid on a pair of size 10 (short) Next maternity jeans as soon as I see a pair on eBay, because those are the ones I already have and they are perfect for me. People seem to have Next maternity jeans quite a lot so they are often going on sale. This way I can snap up a bargain and know it's what I want. I want 2 pairs of maternity jeans because I LIVE in blue jeans normally so I want to have more than one pair I can wear for months on end!! I also want some basic tops and T-shirts, whenever I see them going cheap if they're colours I like. This stuff definitely doesn't need to be bought brand new at store prices, so I'm on the lookout. Anyone happen to have a pair of size 10 (short!) Next maternity jeans they don't need anymore?! Hmmm, maybe not. I don't think they have Next in the States, let alone UK sizing!! Oh well. I'll find some in time anyway. I've got lots of time.

I'll probably write again soon as more things turn up in the post that I want to add photos of!! :) It's really nice of you all to bear with me like this! Hopefully soon I will appear more sane - like when I'm actually pregnant....

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25