Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-01-29 - 11:18 p.m.��previous entry��next entry

17 days old - ironic annoyances, and LOVING my tiny boy!

Another one-handed entry, and I can't write much tonight as Neil is gathering night nappies and so on, as I type (time to go to bed as soon as he returns and Nathan is finished) - somehow it's late again, and I haven't even had time to check email and messages! I will check tomorrow, but thank you if you've left a message after my last entry!

But I just had to write about one little thing.

Anyone remember this entry? Or this one?

Let me refresh your memory:

Entry #1: 39 weeks and 6 days pregnant with Arthur - ONE day before my due date. The tumble dryer broke down and needed replacing.

Entry #2: 40 weeks and 1 day pregnant with Matthew. The washing machine broke down and we had to buy a new one.

Are you sensing where I'm going with this?

Today, I have a 2-week-old baby. In pregnancy terms, I should be 38 weeks and 2 days pregnant. Today the tumble dryer tumbled all day long and still only managed to produce a large pile of cold, wet laundry. Yes folks, it's buggered. Neil and I are becoming such pros at this game that we KNOW there's no point paying for someone to come out and tell us we might as well buy a new machine, so when Neil came into the living room this evening with a handful of soggy washing and said, "There's no heat in the tumble dryer. This is still cold and wet." it took me about 5 minutes to hop straight onto the internet and research tumble dryers, find the best priced one that will meet our needs, and purchase it.

But with WHAT money?!?!?! If I were the complaining type (sarcasm intended - I AM the complaining type, lol!) I would be pointing out the irony of the situation for the THIRD time running - how could the timing be any worse?!!! New baby - again! This time, THREE children full-time in cloth nappies, and we are absolutely 110% WITHOUT money - 4 months since we had any income, no savings, MASSIVE credit card debts (since we're living off them), etc. I'm just beyond annoyed about the whole thing where every 19 months an appliance must break down, and be perfectly timed for the MOST inconvenience possible, always coinciding with the arrival of a new baby. Urrrrrrrggghhh.

Anyway. What can you do, hey?

So we used the credit card (with eyes closed! It's getting kind of crazy really) to buy another tumble dryer. It's coming from John Lewis so they'll deliver free and take the old one away, etc. THIS time we're paying for an extended five year warranty! We know something will break in another 19 months time! Tsk. Anyway. John Lewis deliver "usually" within 7 days. They don't even contact you till a couple of days after you place the order, to set up a delivery time. *sigh* We currently have to do like fifty loads of laundry a day just to get by, and I have no idea how we'll keep up without a tumble dryer. We don't have enough radiator space to lay out even a half load all at once to dry. Most of the nappies we have won't dry well on radiators, or will go kind of stiff as a result.

This means we have to BUY disposable nappies - firstly money, again. And secondly, ugh, disposable nappies! All 3 of the boys will have to wear them for a bit, till the laundry crisis is resolved. I have made sure I have enough clean cloth nappies to see Nathan through the night tonight, and maybe into the day tomorrow. Neil is taking the older boys out to buy yucko disposables tomorrow morning.

Also, tiny clothes. And not-so-tiny clothes. Well, those'll have to dry hanging over stuff or on radiators. But anyway, it just SUCKS!

I can't believe the mocking irony of it all!

There is probably a lot more useful and pleasant stuff I could be writing tonight, but THIS is what's on my mind right now, hence the vent. And Nathan is now asleep so I'll attempt to go to bed on the sofa and get some sleep!

BUT. He is so cute! I love him so so so so much, I just can't BELIEVE how much. I think he is juuuust beginning to look like he's filling out a bit. I think his face is beginning to look a tiny bit more like a term newborn's face, and less like a teeny tiny baby with not much body fat! His cheeks are just... ohhhh! They're just heavenly! Soooo soft, and with the SOFTEST ever light covering of what I presume to be leftover lanugo (the fine soft downy baby hair that covers their entire body in the womb) - like a peach! The best thing about Nathan's cheeks is that they are little soft round cushions absolutely tailored to be the perfect size for my lips to land on when pursed! I can't even begin to estimate how many times I have kissed those soft downy little cheeks. I just can't help myself, it's more addictive than biting my nails! I. just. HAVE. to. kiss. them. All the time.

Ohhhh my baby boy. He's so gorgeous and he's MINE, and when I look at him he makes my ovaries ache, and I can't wait to have more sweet babies to love and kiss and adore. But right now, I will take this one! I will DRINK him up. He's just intoxicating to me. I love him so much.

I'm so so blessed. I can't get over how much.

*contented sigh*

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25