Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-02-09 - 12.21am��previous entry��next entry

4 weeks old! A bazillion photos...

Waaay too long since I last posted, and as always, it's late, so I can't really write for ages (not that it ever stops me!). Our laptop died! Eventually it had to go to be repaired and we only just got it back. It needed a new motherboard. Thankfully we had been paying a small monthly fee for insurance for such things, so it didn't cost a thing! We do have the main computer attached to the TV screen, but Neil has been writing job applications on it every evening for a week, and I can't use it in the day because the boys are in this room. So, I had to wait till the laptop had recovered! I have a bunch of emails that I need to read through. I'm sorry I've been MIA!

My baby boy is FOUR WEEKS OLD today! How can this beeee?! Also, it's so weird to me that tomorrow is February 10th, my due date. It feels like Nathan has been here forever, and Feb 10th is now not really that connected to him after all. I mean, it's like a month out from when he actually arrived. It was this magic date that I had all my focus and excitement on for many long months, so it's weird that it is here and doesn't really mean a thing after all! ;)

I haven't had Nathan weighed since the Health Visitor came a couple of weeks ago, so I have no idea what he weighs now. I am ITCHING to know! He is really changing shape and filling out now, so I am sure he weighs a whole lot more than before! I am extra curious to know what he weighs NOW, because I am wondering what he might have weighed if he had arrived at the same kind of time that his brothers did. He is beginning to outgrow his tiny baby clothes now, and many of his newborn sleepsuits and vests are not baggy on him any more.

He has also started to feel much more "padded" to me on the torso as I hold him, and his face looks more filled out - especially his cheeks, which are starting to resemble Arthur's so much more now! I KNEW he had the same body/head/face shape as Arthur, from the scan! I just knew it :)

Oh my goodness me, he is the cutest pie. I mean, I just gaze at him all day long and then all night long, and then all day long again, and then all night long again (you get the picture!) and DO NOT TIRE of it, seriously. Oh the sleep deprivation! But oh my gosh, he's so gorrrgeous! I have started to wonder weird things like, "Were my other babies even this gorgeous?! Or is it just hormones right now?" I feel bad when I think that. I whisper to Nathan at night, "You are just the most beautiful baby boy I ever laid eyes on...." and then immediately feel guilty, because I feel like it's TRUE. But I have had two other baby boys already. They should all seem as beautiful to me as each other! I know "newborn" hormones have a lot to answer for though! And I remember being completely besotted like this in the early weeks with both my other boys.

I am just totally. in. love.

Really.

Nathan is much more alert these days and making calm eye contact for long periods of time. He is making the odd effort to vocalise when looking at us, and he also makes a TON of random funny little vocal noises! We went to Fellowship Group this week (just me and Nathan - Neil took the older boys to have haircuts!), and people commented on his little noises there :) He often does little bleats just like a baby goat, hehe! Especially stirring in his sleep. It's tooooo cute. My mum thinks this is apt because he is (apparently) a Capricorn (as is she) and this is represented by a goat. It's all rhubarb to me though ;)

I can't WAIT to see his first smile! Arthur was 4 weeks and 2 days old, and Matthew was 3 weeks and 5 days old, for the first smile. I know Nathan will be a little later with his milestones because he was early. But I am watching out for it all the time, and seem to spend a lot of time holding Nathan so his face is 8-12 inches from mine, cooing over him and making all sorts of silly noises and faces, hehe! I probably couldn't get much happier or euphoric than I feel now, but I know it will be a magic moment to see him respond to me with a smile. I can't wait!

I am just sooooo happy these days! Nothing like with the boys at this stage - life was way too overwhelming those times. I think the only difference is that I have HELP this time when I reeeeally needed it before, so I guess it's not an accurate picture of how I'd be doing if things were normal (that is, Neil working). But thankfully I don't have to think about that at the moment. I am blessed to have time to rest or catch up on an hour or two of sleep in the day time. And Neil does so much with the older boys. It helps me to stay sane! I'm so thankful. It allows me to be as deliriously happy as I am right now, and to enjoy my new baby with allll of my heart and soul and mind.

I just love him sooooo much! :)

Once the laptop came back, I finally got the new camera photo software onto it, and have been uploading photos this evening. There were 203!!!! They were kind of fiddly to upload and took a long time, and I can't figure out the dates so I don't know exactly how old Nathan was in each photo (which bugs the heck out of me!), but oh well. I still have to learn a lot about the new camera and the software. But, for now, I have uploaded a bunch of photos at random. And I think I've identified the first couple of photos from the camera - so those should come first to pick up from where I left off with the old camera. Here they are - Nathan sleeping on Neil, on Neil's 34th birthday (Jan 25th). He was 13 days old here:

More sleeping on Daddy photos, from maybe a few days after the above pics were taken - I love the "No pictures!" pose in the second one, haha!

Looking around (2 weeks old):

My house now that I have three children under four, hahaha! Up until 2 weeks after the birth, I planned to do NOTHING to the house, and just relax about the mess. After 2 weeks, I have started to do housework, just bits and pieces. Mostly laundry (oh my gosh the LAUNDRY these days!), tidying the floor fifty times a day, and decluttering a bit where I can. Anyway, here is my living room just after 2 weeks after the birth!

And I am NOT depressed about it! I am in such a different mindset this time, because I made sure I planned it that way beforehand, not to stress about things and to enjoy this early stage instead of thinking of it as just too much hard work.

A few photos of my tiny boy at 3 weeks old (or it might have been a couple of days before he turned 3 weeks old)- breastfeeding (going fabulously, by the way, though still mighty frequently!), yawning whilst being burped afterwards, and then sleeping :)

Nathan with his biggest big brother:

And with his other big brother, who is still soooo gentle with Nathan, but does like to point out his facial features a lot!

Tiny hand and foot (ohhhh my ovaries!!):

A little playing around with the new features on my new camera! I think Nathan was 2.5 weeks old here:

I have such a ton to write about sleep and nursing and the boys (the older two), and so on. And not-so-pregnancy-diary related stuff about the car situation, etc. And I can't even begin to figure out how on earth I'll ever get ALL the photos that I want to post, done! There are just so many that I LOVE that I haven't resized or uploaded to Photobucket yet. And I hope the ones I've posted will be an okay size. It's all new and I'm not sure if I've done it right! Anyway. I will be back asap to post a lot more photos. If I don't get to it soon, they'll be out of date and I'll have more recent ones waiting! So I'll try to come back in the next few days and do another big photo entry to catch up. Most of the above photos are one of many from the same "session", and I would have liked to post all or most of those pics together, but I just literally picked them randomly to upload - just out of my favourites. There are like a hundred favourites though! *sigh*

I just love this baby boy so much. When I look at him I get feelings and even physical sensations that I can't describe. I mean, the normal stuff, like my milk letting down and feeling all mushy, etc! But my throat feels funny sometimes when I look at him. I feel happier than I can describe feeling, and my throat gets like an itch in it. Or sort of a cross between an ache and an itch. I am not sure I like the feeling. I want to reach in there and pull my own throat out to relieve the feeling! But anyway. I just love him so. I'm amazed his cheeks aren't chapped for how many times I kiss them every single hour around the clock!

Ohhh, I want ten more! :)

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25