Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-01-23 - 11.19pm��previous entry��next entry

Nappy news (photos!) and feelings

It's been a while since I posted! Thanks so much Helen and Kelli for the lovely messages in my guestbook!! :) I am still so excited about this diary. I have quite a lot of links on my links page now because I spend half my life researching baby/pregnancy related things on the web these days!

Well anyways, I am posting because I made a pwetty diaper today and I took photos again. I made another fleecy all-in-one and two stretch terry prefolds since my last entry but they were just so-so and a lot like the photos I already posted, so I didn't make an entry for them. But today was very exciting!! I finally got some more nappy-making stuff through the post from The Nappy Mill - a Honeyboy diaper kit which will have to be sent back as she's sent me too little of the soaker fabric by mistake, and two lots of Malden Mills fleece!!!! I know, it must sound very dull. But I'm excited all the same! One of the fleeces is bright pink. But it looks nice and I am thinking it will be a little bright on a newborn, so I made a size small (14-25lbs) Honeyboy diaper out of it today :) Here are the pics - the colours are a bit weird, it's not quite as bright as that really.....

But I used my last scrap of plain flannel and I need more to make another diaper :( So I will have to improvise, or else be patient! I have an order on its way from America at the moment, from Fabric.net which I stumbled across on Google. It is such a great online store! The prices are almost silly, they are so cheap. So I am waiting for 3 different colours of microfleece that I'm gonna use for inner liners (apparantly reeeally good at wicking moisture away from a baby's skin, not to mention luxuriously soft!), and one heavy weight fleece for the outside of diapers. Yay! I just saw that they also sell seriously huge amounts of good quality flannel for flumpence, so I will have to order some when we have some money.

Since I last wrote I have joined UKparents (see links, can't remember the addy), which is like Babycentre, only it has a huuugely busy and active forum section. I am using the cloth nappy forum a lot lately! There is NO burley knit terry towelling in this country. BKT is the absolutely best fabric you can possibly buy as a soaker material in nappies. But whose idea was it? America's. Where do I live? Engyland. Do they sell it here? No. Does anyone in England HAVE a clue?!! Only the few who are as frustrated as me. Pfthth. I've spent ages trying to track some down but there really really really isn't ANY in the country. Or at least, not any that anybody is willing to part with anyway. American online places sell it but only a few of them and the shipping costs are phenomenal so I can't afford that. Tonight I placed pleading posts at various baby/parenty sites and somebody emailed me out of the blue saying they thought they might be able to get some from the States and how much do I need!!!! That was sooooo nice of them, I can't get over it. So now I have made a new friend, we spent a while sending emails back and forth, chatting about nappies and this n that. The only difference when I chat with all these new people I'm meeting online, is that they have babies and I don't.

Lizzie felt her baby move for the first time this week. I long for that. She described it so well. Bleh.

I am having a lot of huge feelings about pregnancy but not just my own, I can't really explain it without going into massive detail, which I don't want to do as this isn't a private diary. Hmmm. I think there are a lot of things that I didn't even CONSIDER before, which have completely thrown me and I am gonna have to adjust and get used to them. When I first got hit with them I didn't think I could ever be happy with the idea, but now.... I don't know, I'm sure I can. It just rumples my feathers, that's all. And makes me feel like a horrid person. This stage of my life is so important to me. Pregnancy. My pregnancy. Becoming a mummy. I have waited and planned all my life, more than 20 years now to be exact. It's mine, like a treasure that's been out of reach till I grew old enough and tall enough to reach it. I thought it was mine in every sense of the word, and I've longed for it as such. But I didn't think of some stuff, and there were some things I didn't stop to think how they'd make me feel.

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25