Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-01-26 - 11.43am��previous entry��next entry

Blood tests are done :)

Just updating to say I've just had my blood taken for my luteal phase hormone levels. It was supposed to be tomorrow but I decided to change my appointment to today instead. I hate blood tests and I wanted it over and done with! So that means I will get results for progesterone at 9 days past ovulation (today), which is good. It has to be somewhere between 7 and 10 days, so today is good.

A student took my blood. She missed my vein and she was sooooo apologetic and embarrassed about it. She couldn't have had a better patient to get it wrong with, because I was able to say I know what it's like, having been a student taking blood (nervously!) from patients myself. I told her I didn't mind in the least, and anyway, her supervisor did a much more painful job on me when she tried a different vein. I do hate blood tests and they always make me feel kind of shaky and weird (just nerves though), but I will NEVER turn away a student who needs the practise, because I know what it's like. So many people eyed me up suspiciously as they were rolling up their sleeve, and asked, "Are you/Is she a student?" and when the answer was yes, they refused to let me touch them! Which I do understand. But c'mon, a girl's gotta practise if she's gonna get better at it! So I am happy to let students loose on me. I spent the whole session telling her she was doing great and talking with her and her supervisor about my midwifery training and when I'm planning to finish it. It was quite a nice blood-stealing session therefore!

I'm sooooo glad it's done though. But it is sure to be fine, as I know I have ovulated this cycle. I get the results back in 8 days (aaaaages!!) but I think I will see my doctor instead of phoning in for the results, because I want to know the exact figures, and anyway he said to go back after we'd had our initial tests done. We have now, so I wonder what happens next?

I am on CD24, 9 days after ovulation, and my temp is still nice and high. My chart is looking triphasic at the moment, as long as my temp stays up like this. More so than last cycle even.

I hope this is it this cycle. But I will try hard not to get too down if I get my period. It is due on Saturday. Breasts are sore, moods are swinging, and I am reeeally sensitive to smells these last few days. But then all of that happens quite normally when I am heading for a period, so who knows. I have not been looking at due date forecasters for the last few months, whereas I used to do that allll the time earlier on when we were first TTC. I see no point now, and I'm sure it only makes things worse when we haven't succeeded. I will resist temptation till I know I'm pregnant, and then the first thing I'll do is look up when I'm due. I hope I hope I hope it's this cycle! Or soon. Just so long as it's soon.

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25