Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-11-07 - 11.12pm��previous entry��next entry

My period's here, and a new cycle again

Hello and thank you for the lovely guestbook messages :)

Just thought I would update to say my period showed up this evening so I am now on day one of a new cycle. There wasn't much chance of pregnancy last cycle but if my CM was as fertile as it ought to be mid-cycle, there should have been a pretty good chance. But at least I know about that now, so I didn't expect to be pregnant.

We are still not planning to try for a baby this cycle, and I swing from wishing to get past this so that I can just get on with having a baby, to being glad of the break because I just don't know how I'd ever be ready for such a big thing.

I am hopefully starting a natural supplement soon that boosts the endocrine system and therefore balances hormones, etc. My pre-menstrual symptoms start from ovulation now, and this has been gradually getting worse and lasting longer all year. Now I get cramps and very sore breasts and mood swings from the day after I ovulate, all through to my period, which definitely isn't normal for me. So I think my hormones are imbalanced. Should that be "unbalanced"? Hmmm. Anyway, this is likely the cause of my worsening PMS, and possibly the cause of my issues with sex, and HOPEFULLY the cause of my not-getting-pregnant-straight-away issues. I really hope that they work, and I think it's well worth a try anyway. You can find out more information at this website. The supplements I'm going to try are called Phytosterol tablets, and if you're interested you can find stuff about them under the link for glyco products. The main thing this place does is a supplement for general immune system boosting though.

So yeah, not trying for a baby this cycle. I hope I can stick to that! It's hard when I know I am fertile and I want it so badly, but it is definitely good that we are having a time out while Neil is starting his course and stepping up the hours at work, and while I'm still trying to deal with Cameron's death.

I haven't totally switched off from baby-land though. I have won several eBay bids for maternity stuff - boy do I hope I will actually be able to USE it!! I have so much stuff now! I won leggings, and more denim jeans, and some soft corduroy trousers, and a couple of tops that are really pretty. Oh and two long dresses in my size for 10p!!!!!!! They were going so cheap because the lady said they were in "fair" condition, and when I asked, it was only because they had a few buttons missing, which is fine by me since I am happy sewing stuff. So I have them now and they are lovely. I am so pleased!

I also found a couple of bits of flannel fabric on eBay and won those for hardly any money, so those go with my lovely fabric stash. And talking of fabric stash, One Stop Diaper Shop have a huge new stock of beautiful knit prints, so I placed an order (always soooo exciting from this particular place!!) for EIGHT different prints, all 0.6 yard cuts because that is the exact right size for making Cuddlebuns diapers out of. I can get three Cuddlebuns out of a 0.6 yard cut, plus plenty left over for boosters/doublers and wipes. So I have LOADS of options for Cuddlebuns. And I got loads of velour lately. Purple, bluey-grey, and pink. Just what was going at a good price. Velour is gorgeous, luxury fabric for making nappies and wipes. I also won a 3-metre cut of stretchy knit fabric at eBay for a couple of pounds, which is excellent. It's red with white stars on. I have waaaay too much but oh well. If I ever make nappies to sell I will be able to churn out LOADS of red nappies with stars on!

The big thing is I have bought an overlocker (serger). Biiiig expensive item of sewing machinery! I got it brand new at eBay, �50 cheaper than in the shop. I debated about buying an overlocker for a while because of the expense and I wasn't sure if it would be used well enough for the cost. I asked around on sewing/nappy websites and got some advice. So I decided to buy one, or at least, wait till a good deal came up at eBay. It is being delivered next week and then I have to learn how to use it! Which could take me a while - it looks pretty complicated. An overlocker will allow me to make nappies using a faster, less complicated method (once I learn how of course!), and I won't need to turn them half-way through sewing. And it will bind the edges so that they don't unravel and I won't have to sew hems at all. It's the ideal thing for sewing boosters and wipes, because you just put the layers together and sew and cut round in one go - the machine cuts as it goes along if you set it to. If I end up selling cloth nappies and wipes I will need an overlocker. And I think maybe I might one day, maybe soon or maybe not for a while, I'm not sure. I am scared to make a fun hobby into a chore.

Anyway, so I have an overlocker (soon). I asked Neil not to get me any Christmas presents so that at least some of the price of the overlocker would be a present. But he says he already bought me something! Hopefully a small something, because I feel kind of bad about the overlocker! I hope I put it to good use.

I have made a Cuddlebuns since I wrote my last entry. It's pretty. But really really hard to sew. I need a walking-foot for my sewing machine to stop the fabric bunching, according to the pattern instructions. The bunching is driving me mad so I am going to buy a walking-foot before trying another Cuddlebuns. I haven't got a photo of the one I made, but it's a pretty orange knit with a tiny flowery pattern, and I used butternut microfleece (it's a gorgeous creamy orange colour) and orange snaps. I like it. But I have prettier knits on the shelves so I can't wait to make them into Cuddlebuns!!!

Anyway I'm waffling now, and I just meant to say I am on a new cycle so I'll stop now. Thanks for the support and the nice words. I will update again before long I should think.

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25