Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2008-11-18 - 9:39 p.m.��previous entry��next entry

7 weeks pregnant, yay!

I'm 7 weeks pregnant today! Yay! I'm sooooo happy to have 6 weeks behind me, phew! That whole week was not fun with the nausea. Oddly (and hopefully not too worryingly??) it has been much more manageable yesterday and today. It was awful for the whole of week 6 there, worse than I remember it with any of my other pregnancies. Now it's resembling what I'm used to a lot more. I feel pretty sick right now so I am not crazy about staying at the computer for a long time.

Although! One thing that's different this time from all my other pregnancies, is that the computer does NOT make me feel any sicker than I'm already feeling! Yay! I am so happy about that!! :) I'm still distracted by the nausea and tired out to boot, so I am not doing nearly as much online as I normally do - just checking messages and things. But it's sooooo nice to not have to lose touch with everything online completely for a couple of months because it makes me feel tooooo sick!

I'm eating with difficulty, and I can't eat much in any one sitting. I also can't tolerate fluids. At all! They make me feel so gross and nauseous! The lemon water is starting to wear thin on me now, so I'm giving it a break so that I don't build up a whole thing where I can never go near that water again due to the association! Might be too late for that now, but hopefully not! I'm trying the same brand but the mango and passion fruit instead. I couldn't take that one before because it's sweeter, and BOY I cannot bear even the slightest natural sweetness in any food or drink this pregnancy! Except cream of tomato soup, which has turned my stomach completely (horrible heavily-sugared taste!) in other pregnancies (though not all of them, I think...). Anyway, it's fine this time, though I don't enjoy eating ANYTHING yet.

I sip milk but never manage to drink much, and the mango and passionfruit water is okay but I can't take loads of that either. I'm getting waaaay too little to drink every day, maybe about 500mls or less total? NOT good. But I just can't seem to get any more fluids in me. I just feel so sick when I have anything more than a couple of sips sitting in my stomach, and I try to sip things throughout the day but apparently don't do too well at that! I'm trying to make sure I'm eating some foods that are high fluid content though.

I'm eating CRAZY quantities of cottage cheese - for the fourth pregnancy in a row, haha! ;) It's the only thing that just goes down nicely and I may even get a feeling that's somewhat related to ENJOYING it as I'm eating it! :) I eat it many times a day, often just a quick fix when I'm overly nauseous - it instantly reduces how sick I feel but doesn't last long. I eat it with cucumbers, or carrots, and I have at least 1 small baked potato a day with cottage cheese. Tonight I'm feeling kind of nervous because I've eaten nearly a whole family tub of cottage cheese (huge!) just today!! And my bowel is feeling dodgy this evening, hmmm, I wonder why that could be?! I really need to eat as much cottage cheese as I do right now, to cope through the day, but I DON'T want it causing me, uh, other side-effects as a result!

I am soooooo proud of myself for all the bulk cooking I did right after my positive pregnancy test!! This is the first week I'm really starting to use what I've stored away in the freezer, and I'm just so uplifted and happy and jubilant to totally NOT cook every afternoon, but instead dump the contents of a container into a pan (or shove in the oven) - without looking if need be! Wonders! - and switch the heat on and walk away! Then, come dinner time an hour later, the house smells of home-cooking, and I serve up a cooked-by-my-own-fair-hands healthy nutritious HOT meal for my children! As a bonus, so far, *I* have been able to eat a vaguely normal portion of these meals too! I am not sure how I'll do with lasagne tomorrow. I'm on such BLANDO food at the moment, and that's less so. But we'll see! :) I'm so so so glad I did it, and I can not recommend it enough to anyone not yet pregnant but hoping or planning to be! :)

I am also dealing with nappy changes and poo and things pretty well, which I'm so thankful for!!! It seems that is something most morning sick mamas do not manage very easily, and I am blessed to deal with it okay. I DO have a perfected "nasal switch" thing going on though, after all these nappy years, hehe! I can now instantly switch to mouth breathing with a TOTAL close on any smell of any sort (no matter how strong!) getting in my nose. It has taken some practise though! ;) But I'm glad of it. I can talk to the boys without it bothering my smell-block too, which is good! So that helps a LOT with nappy changes, because essentially, unless I'm careless with the old switch, I don't smell a thing when I'm changing them. I do have more trouble with food than pooey nappies though. And I'm not dealing quite so well with tipping MOUNDS of poo out of the potty down the loo, urgh. For some reason that is seriously not a friendly job, especially if there's wee AND mounds of poo in the same potty. Uggggghhhhh. Arthur still mostly goes in the potty because it's a lot easier than getting him to the loo, and also if he uses the big loo then I have to start cleaning it, haha! I mean, you know, clean it more often ;) And toilet cleaner, right now? Um, no. I'm sure that in the next couple of months, Neil will probably get around to cleaning the loo once or twice (I can hear the hands being clapped over horrified mouths right now, haha!), but basically it's not the ideal time for me to start getting him to the toilet for most of his wees and poos. Ah, maybe I'll re-think. But anyway, yeeeuuurgh, the potty tipping (and cleaning!) is gross right now!

Moving on! From that delightful subject! ;)

I was wrong about Babydot's measurements when I wrote my entry after the scan! I thought Babydot had measured 4mm, but then I read the report the next day and it was 6.4mm! Very different!! It makes the scan picture from last entry pretty much LIFE SIZE, which I find so exciting for some reason! :)

Also I forgot to write about a couple of less interesting parts of the scan. They checked my ovaries - they always do. My left one is always really hard for them to reach and it is very uncomfortable for me to have them search for it. The right one is RIGHT THERE, always. I wonder if I'm twisted or something, inside?! It's the same every pregnancy. Anyway, there was a corpus luteal cyst (normal) on my RIGHT ovary! I'm always so excited when there's a corpus luteal cyst because it means I can tell without a doubt which side I ovulated from. The corpus luteum forms from the empty follicle that the egg was ovulated from. In some pregnancies/women, a cyst develops there too. The corpus luteum is responsible for sustaining the pregnancy till the placenta is able to take over - the whole first trimester! A pretty important thing then! Anyway, I have had a cyst 3 out of my 4 pregnancies. I didn't have one with Matthew, so I couldn't see which side I had ovulated from. I had ovulation pains on my left side that time, so I was sure myself.

I am dominant with my left ovary - very dominant actually. I was surprised when Nathan was a right ovary baby! So now I have another right ovary baby! :) Which surprises me, given my dominance on the other side. I went back to my FF notes around ovulation time to see if I had noted one side or the other for sensations and ovulation pain, and I felt so proud of my know-my-body-ness, because I had written that I had some weird twinges and some pain on my right side, which I wasn't used to because normally my ovulation pain is my left side. But I couldn't put it down to wind or anything else, so I thought it must be ovulation! And it was! :)

So now, my first two babies came from my left ovary, and my next two from my right ovary! I love strange little statistics like this, haha!

Well, Babydot now measures 7mm (or more, going by last scan??) from crown to rump. Things are developing so fast in there! I was also wrong (tsk!) last entry about the stages of development that Babydot was at, because I had myself down as 27DPO for some reason, when I was actually 31DPO! A whole different stage ahead, then!

Right now, I'm 35DPO and Babydot has just finished Carnegie Stage 14. The eyes are visible, the oesophagus is forming, the upper limbs are getting longer and starting to taper, and there are tiny lower limb buds too! Babydot is beginning kidney development and has right and left lung sacs in place! It's just so amazing, so quickly! Today also marks the start of Carnegie Stage 15, where lots more exciting things will happen over the next 3 days (that's as long as that stage lasts), like everything lengthening (intestines, blood vessels, kidney buds, oesophagus, and limbs. The upper limb bud will be visibly split into hand plate, lower arm, upper arm and shoulder in just a few days, and nerves will be built through to the upper limbs! There is a lot going on with Babydot's face right now too. The beginnings of the mouth, nose and external ears are already underway, and the brain is developing fast. It's just incredible. I read with wide eyes and baited breath every time I come back to check what's going on with Babydot since I last looked! It just boggles my brain. God is so amazing. This little baby is literally being knit together in my womb just like the Bible says :)

Well I'm feeling pretty sick now so I will stop. I'm extra tired these days. Nathan is still wakeful a lot at night, and if I go to bed when I used to, I just can NOT deal with the tiredness that follows!

I'm so excited to be 7 weeks pregnant! :) It means only TWO WEEKS till I can probably hear Babydot's heartbeat on my doppler! I'm so excited to use that again :) I hear all my babies (so far) at 9 weeks. Knowing me I will probably start looking from oooh, 8 weeks and 5 days?? Probably :) Soooo soon now!

I'm STILL spotting brown. It faded a great deal in colour by a few days ago, but was much darker brown again yesterday and today is the same. I'm much reassured by the scan and my history, so I'm mostly not even thinking about it, but it IS a nuisance! And I am kind of fed up with it already. I have more CM all of a sudden lately, and that unnerves me a lot and has me running to check my underwear several times a day, convinced that I'm bleeding again. I am kind of over the bleeding thing now! I hope this will be IT, this pregnancy - no new bleeds please! I don't know when to expect the spotting to stop. I thought soon, because they saw no sign of a source of bleeding on the scan, but it still continues. I know that by the middle of next week I can phone them and ask for another scan, if I'm still spotting, because by the time I get an appt, it will be 2 weeks at least since the previous scan. So at least there's that.

Okay, MUST go to bed! Probably missed lots of stuff, but oh well. I'll try to catch up next time.

Oh but thanks Caroline for the tip about the Muti Sickness Stick! I googled immediately, found it at a place that fully slips my mind right now (sorry!) and bought it! It arrived this morning, and it smells okay. I haven't really put it to the test properly yet, so I don't know if it works for me or not. It's very spearminty, which is a big association with Rennies for me, when I had nervous nausea in my teens and would pop them like sweets in a panic! ;) So, not the best association then, hehe! I'm not sure if it will work for me, but I'm glad of any tips! Shannon suggested Unisom and Vitamin B6 (thank you!) but after extensive googling I decided not to try the Unisom because it can dry up breastmilk, and I want Nathan to get as much as he can for as long as he can. I'm noticing a slight drop in supply - I don't ever leak any more and my breasts are smaller and don't feel full of milk much now. They are starting to hurt more than they used to lately, though! I'm still nursing all the boys, but trying to cut all daytime milk out for the older two. Arthur is now used to that (still asks though), and Matthew isn't doing too well with it at the mo :( He cries when he's tired and wants milky. If he has a day time nap then I nurse him, but otherwise not. He still needs a day time nap but can manage (just about!) without one, and it makes bedtime SO SO SO much easier when he doesn't! So he only naps now when he's obviously totally exhausted and needing the extra sleep (maybe 2 days a week?). They both nurse at bedtime - Matthew a long feed, Arthur just a few seconds. I'm demand feeding Nathan day and night as much as I can because I so want him to get plenty of milk, especially if it's starting to dry up :(

Anyway, I'm waffling on AGAIN! Must go to bed!!!! I'll write again soon.

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25