Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-02-25 - 9.40am��previous entry��next entry

Newsy entry! :)

Well I am 12 days past ovulation today. I did not get up to pee in the night so of course I got all flappy that maybe I'm not pregnant after all (silly girl!).

Yesterday I did a weird thing. My mummy has these liquorice and aniseed sweets which I LOVE. She offered me one and I thought hmmm, I don't know if I can eat that. I mean, literally. I took one but the idea of eating it made me feel gaggy, so I smelt it in it's wrapper and had to say no and hand it back. Weird. Then last night we ate lasagna for dinner. I was so stuffed after a small/medium portion that I couldn't eat any dessert. Mind you, I am generally off dessert at the moment. Then we went upstairs and watched a few episodes of BlackAdder, and by the time we came down (an hour and a half later) I was ravenous and had to heat up another portion of lasagna and scoff it down with bread and drink orange juice!

Well this morning my temperature surprised me even more by going up AGAIN - the highest temp I've ever had. I know I am only 12 days past ovulation but the urge to test overwhelmed me, and after sensible (!!) discussion with Neil about it in bed, I decided to get up and test at 8am. So I did.

I sat in the bathroom staring at the stick with absolutely no trace of a line on it. I said all my lines ("It's just a matter of time, think of the travel pill you can take on the plane" (!!), etc), but I felt strangely calm because.... I don't know. I've never seen a positive result with the 2 lines (except for that weird semi-line last time) but I felt like it would not be out-of-this-world to see one today.

Well nothing, except maybe I thought I started to see the slightest "something" where a line should be. It was about 2 minutes by this time and the test says to read at 3 minutes and interpret no later than 10 minutes. So I took the test into the (dark) bedroom to ask Neil if my eyes were going crazy (like last cycle). He said to switch the light on, but electric light made my "something" that I thought I'd seen, disappear. So I insisted on opening the blind on the velux window to let bright daylight in, and that Neil put his glasses on (poor Neil, he was so sleepy!). He said it was negative, he couldn't see anything.

But I was going, "No, look THERE!" and pointing at not-a-lot. We got out of bed and stood under the velux window, where I was now sure I could see a second line. Neil took a while longer, but then he said he could see it too. The longer we debated over whether it was a line or not, the clearer it got! We got back in bed with Neil saying not to get too excited because of last cycle, etc, and maybe it's not actually a line, it was soooo faint. But by the time we were back in bed, in the dark and shady part of the room, I could still see the line, even in the shadows!!! So I said, "I can still see it!!" and he sat up and looked, and he said he could see it too. When we held it back in the light it looked quite clear, even though it's faint, even at arms length. There was this lonnnnng silence, and then I said, "I'm pregnant!" Neil just looked at me, so I said it again. And again, and again and again and again, if you must know every detail!

Neil tried to argue it away sort of protectively, you know, but in the end it was too obvious that I had a definite positive pregnancy test and we lay down in bed and he gave me a huge hug and said "Congratulations!" I said the same to him, and then he said, "This is scary!!" and that's when I realised I'm kind of scared too. But yay!

I'm pregnant!!!!

Every time I say it, I can't believe it's true. But my test says otherwise. I wish there was a way of photographing the test so you could see. I used a cheapie internet test, the type I've been using all along, but I'll test again tomorrow morning with the same type of test, and if it's positive I think I'll seal it with my Clearblue test.

I went and woke my parents up! Neil said to go and tell them :) Daddy woke and looked at me, and I said, "I'm pregnant!" Ohhhh I can't stop saying those two words!! And I can't believe I'm saying it. And ohhhh how I've been longing to tell my parents those two words for so long. I'm so so so glad we are staying with them at the moment. We go home to England the day after tomorrow. So I'm glad we were with them when we found out.

Anyway Daddy went, "What?!" and Mummy woke looking all confused and dazed, and worried that I was in their bedroom early in the morning - I think she thought something was wrong. When she looked at me I said, "I'm pregnant!!" (notice a pattern here?!!) and she went, "Oh Ali!!" Then Daddy was all disbelieving and kept saying, "Surely not!" and asking if it was possible that the test was wrong or if it might be negative again tomorrow. I said I am definitely pregnant today, and if I get my period or test negative, it will be because I have had a miscarriage, not because I am not pregnant.

I showed them the test. They had to put their glasses on, and there was this pause.... and then, "Nah, that's negative!" So I drew all the curtains (my poor old parents!) and made them look again, and eventually they could see the line. Happy happy!!

When I came downstairs to chart my temperature and test results, I told the cat I am pregnant. He asked for his breakfast. Oh well. I'm sure that's his way of being happy for me :) I put the test on the kitchen window sill so everyone can keep looking at it, and I've made a million trips there myself already this morning! It's nice and clear, that second line, but still pretty faint.

Anyway, then I went to FF and put my temp on my chart (37.0!!). It immediately told me my chart went triphasic at 8DPO, which is right on time for implantation, and then I entered my positive HPT and my temperature line went green (how exciting!! I've watched this happen to soooo many other people's charts and could never imagine it happening to one of mine!!). The VIP box said, "Congratulations, you are pregnant!"

My FF ticker says I am 3 weeks and 5 days pregnant. I am gonna have to change my diary title to Pregnancy Journal!!!! Yay, I've been waiting for the day I could do that!!

I am pregnant. Wow.

I am due (I CANNOT believe I am writing this!!) November 5th. For my American readers, November 5th is Bonfire (or Fireworks) Night in England, and there is a saying that goes, "Remember, remember the fifth of November" Boy will that date be easy to remember now! I am not totally impressed with a million firecrackers going off when I am enormous and trying my best to sleep in the weeks and days before I give birth! But who cares, I am PREGNANT!!!! I watched a baby born on November 5th once, on my midwifery training. It was at St. Thomas's Hospital in London, and the labour room had this magnificant view over the Thames opposite Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. There were fireworks going off that evening, it was so beautiful, and this lady had a baby boy. And now it's me. How brain-boggling is that?

Well I feel fine. My tummy is a little yucky but I am all adrenaliney. I feel so hot and sweaty but then maybe that's adrenaline too. I feel like I'm radiating heat! I have this bubbly feel, sort of, it's hard to describe, and kind of personal since it's in the vaginal area, but I wanted to write any possible pregnancy-related symptom. I had it yesterday morning too, and now it's here again. Weird.

My cervix is high and soft still, but very firm in the centre, I guess because it is closed very firmly or something.

I can't think of what else to tell you. My husband is sitting right here next to me and I want to hug him and smile at him :) So I'm going now, but I had to let everyone know that...

I'M PREGNANT!!!!!!!!!!!!

Wheeee!!! I hope my bean sticks. I will keep taking the baby aspirin I think, till someone tells me it's okay to stop. I desperately do NOT want to lose my bean. I have a bean, I have a bean!!!!!!! My bean. MY bean. I've waited for my bean for what feels like a long time. I am so glad, so happy, so scared, so wheeeeeee!!!! :)

I'm pregnant. Fancy that.

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25