Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-05-31 - 2.40pm��previous entry��next entry

May update

The May babies are here!!!! Congratulations to Erica on the birth of Lucy Lynn, and to Ash on the arrival of Gwendolyn!!!! You HAVE to go to Erica's journal and go back an entry or so - Lucy is so adorable!

And now - I can't believe I haven't updated in so long - now it's almost June, well, tomorrow it's June, and I get to be all excited about June babies!!!! Woohoo for Lizzy and Robbi!!! I think they are both due right at the end of June though. But soooo exciting!!! I've read both their pregnancy diaries since the first trimester. I love pregnancy diaries. I found two new ones recently, hooray!! One is locked and hush-hush, and the other one is mamalog. So yayness. I hope I will be sharing the pregnant experience with them - what a weird thought, considering they're already pregnant!

Well I haven't written in ages because I've been soooo busy and also some issues popped up that made us wonder about putting off TTC. But if you must read more about it, there's background in my main diary. I don't want to go over a ton of stuff here, and the current state of whatsits is that we are still planning to start TTC when we planned to before. Thanks Amberlee for your guestbook entry. There are tons of reasons to wait, and for me it's definitely not a case of having a baby just when I feel like wanting to have one. There's soooo much more to consider and stuff, and TTC earlier than June/July would be too early for us, trust me!

Okay but it's very likely that we will try to conceive as planned. With two possible exceptions - if our therapist says no. But she won't do that, I'm sure of it. And if the allergy hospital that I'm starting at on June 12th says that I shouldn't TTC right now. Which they won't. Plus all their treatments are safe for pregnancy (and breast feeding). I checked. And I suppose there's a third exception if we suddenly freak out and completely change our minds! But hmmm, I don't think that will happen. We love each other. We are settled. We want to have a baby. We = both of us, so it's not just me, and that's good.

But AAAAAARGH, it's June tomorrow and that's "the month"!!! How scary!! But wonderful. And exciting! So I will be ovulating in the next few days. If we conceived now I would be due pretty much on my birthday in February. Which sounds cute but for some reason it's the kind of thing I'd rather plan to avoid than arrange. I am not mad on the idea of great swathes of family birthdays all clumped together. We have that in January in my family, and February is full-ish too, so I'd prefer a spring or summer baby for that reason. But if I don't conceive right away then I will not give a single monkey when I get to have a baby, just so long as I get to have one!

My cycle was 27 days last month. It has been 28 or 27 every month this year, mostly 28. Exactly one cycle from now we will be trying to conceive. Four weeks today I will start my fertile window. Yikes! And how weird that alllll this time since December I've been charting my temperature every day, and lately I've just stopped doing that. I don't know, it started when I kept forgetting to take my temperature before jumping out of bed in the mornings when we were visiting my parents in France. And then I guess I got out of the habit. And now I don't even know where the thermometer IS!! It's still in bags that I haven't gotten round to unpacking from last weekend. Oh well. I am feeling more like I agree with the doctor at UKparents anyway, the one who said charting won't make it more likely that you'll conceive, that it just raises your awareness of your fertility (which I think I am pretty good on anyway), and if you have sex every few days there will always be live sperm waiting for an egg anyways. So I think that's pretty sensible, and hopefully it'll take the drama out of seeing a rise in my temperature and calling it "baby making day"!! I had been feeling nervous about that, because I didn't want to add stress to the excitement.

I have spent most of May doing bits and pieces of baby stuff, when we haven't been away somewhere, or when I haven't been doing a bit of work from home. I've made a few more nappies, and I got three yards of white microfleece in the post from the fabric co-op in the States - woohoo!!!! I bought this kind of stuff months ago but it takes soooo long for the orders to fill up and get manufactured and cut and then shipped out to everybody. So my yummy white microfleece is here, and plenty of it, and Mummy gave me some towels they don't use anymore - she has more to give me next time I see her too! So I've been making Tots Bot replicas with microfleece inners. I'm gonna make some more of my newborn pads soon too, now I've got the microfleece.

I have a few more things from my maternity list too. I bought some clothes from the buy and sell forum at UKparents - a long-sleeved burgundy coloured top, a pair of navy leggings, a pair of grey jersey shorts, a green Marks and Spencers maternity jumper, and a new light blue T-shirt with a cute pattern on it, for �19 altogether including post. My list has an estimate of a HUGE amount of money for all the maternity things I'll need, and I am just kicking it's butt with all the great deals I'm getting on second hand stuff!!! Woohoo!! I still have a fair bit left on the list, like underwear, which I'll be buying new thanks! And a swimming costume, and nursing pads, and support pillows and nighties for breast feeding, and more leggings and stuff like that.

I have told a few more people that we are planning to try for a baby this summer, which is probably dumb but oh well, I am too excited. One friend said she was so surprised I was telling her, because most people don't tell until they're past the first trimester or something. But I said I know it's risky because who knows if we'll conceive for a while or not, but I can't help it. And if I don't conceive or something, then I'll want their prayers, but it will be kind of awkward if they all know we're trying I suppose. Oh well. I just hope we do conceive. My pastor at church asked if Neil and I could commit to doing the kids' work for August each Sunday. And I think we can't. I mean, we might be able to, but for one thing we already have youth camp to help lead for one week in August, and then if I'm pregnant (which we're hoping I will be), I could be feeling absolutely grim. I hope not, but I could be really, couldn't I? So I don't want to commit to something like that when it might end up being an absolute nightmare that I physically couldn't deal with. So I phoned him to say no, and thus had to tell him why not. Well, I didn't HAVE to tell him, but yeah, I told him. And he was fine with that, said it was sensible, etc. It makes me ever so slightly nervous that so many people know now, but that's my fault and I like it in other ways so it's okay. I am wondering if my grandparents have a sneaky suspicion. I hope they don't because I wanted to surprise them when we're actually pregnant, but I am wondering if they poked their noses in our spare room when they went up to the loo the last time they visited. If so, they will have seen the mountain of cloth nappies and the swinging crib. Hmmm! But they didn't mention anything that day, so we presumed they didn't go nosing. But, every time I speak to them on the phone, they ask me if I have any special news or anything exciting to report - very suspicious, because they never normally ask questions like that. Oh dear. Hmmm.

What else to say? I am off dairy foods this week. My stomach is so mean to me all the time now that I am thinking it hates dairy or something. I usually adore milk and cheese, but lately it bothers me more and I don't feel like eating it, which is odd. So I am choosing to avoid it till my appointment on the 12th. But I wonder if I should be getting calcium supplements during that time? My prenatal vitamin only has 25% of the RDA and I am not getting any other source really, well maybe little bits here and there or something. And I want my body to have all the right levels of vitamins and minerals in it for when I start nurturing a baby, which it won't have if I am getting way less calcium than I need. So should I get a calcium supplement till I find out whether dairy is the problem? Hmmm.

I am switching to roll-on deoderant too. I just don't like the idea of spraying chemicals about the place when I have a little precious to think about. I feel protective of him/her already. I was doing great on the swimming, twice a week and doing a good amount of laps, but then we went to France so I couldn't go swimming. But I walked while we were there. And then I got my period and felt naff. And THEN we went away again last weekend. I walked a bit there too, and this week I've walked again, but STILL haven't gone swimming. I must sort that out, because my plan was to increase it to three times a week once we got to June. I am thinking twice a week is enough actually, because otherwise I'll be swimming every other day and I don't want to go beserk about it all. Swimming twice a week is stretching me just nicely, and I would like to walk a bit more in between anyway, because the weather is getting nice. I am not so paranoid about being fit for pregnancy as I was, it's just the old back muscles that I'm anxious about. I do NOT want the back pain that's so common in pregnancy!

Anyway, I think that's it for now. Roll on June, because I am allowed to buy the pregnancy tests as soon as June kicks in!! So on Monday I will go back to the website I've been wistfully gazing at since January, and buy pregnancy tests ready for the end of the month. I can't believe I'm at this stage already!! It's taken AGES to come round but it's appeared rather suddenly all the same. I'll write again sooner than last time, I promise!

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25