Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-04-04 - 6.46pm��previous entry��next entry

9 weeks, 2 days - ultrasound movie link!

Hello! I'm updating again because it's time for me to post that link to the ultrasound I told you about. Bean should be measuring 8 weeks and 6 days today (going by the scans I had earlier), and I have a link to a website that will show you a MOVING ultrasound of a baby at 8 weeks and 6 days :) It's so cute because it's moving - you can see the heartbeat and the little squirmy movements and everything. It's so so cute. I keep watching it over and over. I can't believe that is what's happening in MY womb. Amazing.

Anyway here's the link (You will need Quicktime to view it):

http://anatomy.med.unsw.edu.au/cbl/embryo/Movies/usound/Humt8w.htm

We went into town today!!!! Still not going to church. I just know I'll tell everyone I see, and I am too nervous to put myself in that position just yet. Nearly time though. Plus I just feel too yucky to sit through a whole service at the moment. Mind you, a trip to town was better than I expected so maybe it wouldn't be so bad? I did get sooooo tired out though, and we didn't stay long.

We went to Mothercare!!!! It was SUCH a proud moment for me to walk in there with my husband and feel like I actually have a real reason to be there! Browsing through the maternity underwear with two ladies with huge bumps.... I didn't feel like I should hide (!!), instead I felt like I had a right to be there. I know that's really stupid but that's how I've always felt about being in Mothercare. Like I am sneaking in without eligibility. And now I am pregnant!!! Yay!!

We saw a ton of things on our list to buy. Things like baby nail scissors, thermometers, top and tail bowl, aspirator, medicine dispenser, etc. We are going to get an inflatable baby bath for when we travel to my parents'. It packs so light and it's a perfectly good bath so there's no point in my parents buying a big baby bath and storing it at their house when we can use this one. Neil wanted to buy the things right there and then, and I was all set to, but when we picked them up of the shelves to buy them, I suddenly got this huge wave of panic, and couldn't bring myself to buy anything. I felt so nervous, like it's too soon. Bad things could still happen. I shouldn't be so negative but I can't help being scared about this. Just a couple more weeks and things will feel better I'm sure. We don't need to buy things in that time anyway. So we left Mothercare without anything. It was nice to visit anyway.

I need clothes at the moment. Maternity underwear ALREADY because even my comfy knickers are digging in a bit across my tummy. I am craving loose clothes at the moment - oddly enough (well it seemed odd to me that I could read about it in a book!), my pregnancy book says at this stage I will find that I'm gravitating towards my loosest fitting clothes, even though I am not showing yet. It's so cool that I have certain symptoms or experiences and then read the exact same things in my book! :) Waistbands make me feel trapped and uncomfortable, not literally trapped but slightly claustrophobic around the waist (if that makes any sense!). I am just super-picky about anything constricting me there, even just a little bit.

So today I looked for maternity knickers. There are loads out there. But they are all WHITE. Or black. Or if you're super lucky they might be grey. Snore. I want colour!!!! I am NOT a white-pantie girl!!! I like colour, stripes, patterns, flowers, pastels, brights, whatever. Just NOT boring plain white or black. S.Nore. Well it seems Mothercare is the only shop in the entire country to stock interesting maternity knickers, and they are bright pinks and stripes and things, a pack of five. But of course the entire country is sold out of my size and the size above. I looked in the online store too, and they are out of stock. Poo.

Well then we went to Marks and Spencer and they are even more boring. I ran out of ideas for places to try after that but I refuse to buy a 5-pack of white pants! So I will see if I can order the pink ones. I like pink :)

Anyway, at M&S I found a pair of cream velour tracksuity trousers in the sale - that was the only colour on sale and cream is not really my thing for trousers, but hey ho. They have a big wide waistband and I got them in a size bigger than I normally take like my pregnancy book suggested. It's baggy round my waist but it sits fine on the little bloaty bit beneath the waistline (!!) so that's great. They also have room for me to grow a good couple of inches more before they start to feel like they fit closely, so they are perfect for that in-between stage where I can't fit in my normal trousers or maternity ones. And I can wear them after the birth too. So I am wearing them now :) They are soooo comfy, and I can't feel anything pressing on my tummy. I have been wearing dungarees for 2 days just to avoid that feeling, so it's nice to have something else to wear too.

Then we went to John Lewis and looked for a while at the prams and pushchairs and carseats and travel systems. They had an okay selection but I only saw one that I liked, and we aren't really sure about that one. It's beautiful and soft but it has a lot of corduroy and surely that is gonna get SOAKED if it rains and take ages to dry out. Plus the first thing that came to mind with corduroy is sick. Sorry, I know that's gross, but I just kept thinking how sick would get into the grooves of the corduroy and not wipe off easily! Practicality you see! ;) Anyway, other than that we LOVED this travel system. But we have a lot more to see, and ages before we need to buy one.

A lady helped us by getting us about 50 brochures (I'm not kidding!) about all the different baby and maternity stuff they do, and various brand-name brochures for carseats, etc. She was really helpful. After a while of standing talking to her I noticed my back was aching a bit, and that's when I realised I was sticking my "bump" out as far as I possibly could, arching the small of my back for maximum effect and everything! Sooo silly!! But I guess I just wanted to look pregnant and look the part that badly, even subconsciously! Silly girl. I was LONGING for a bump. Everyone else wandering around that department had a big bump. I can't wait for mine!

Anyway she asked when the baby was due and I said November. That was so cool :) I love being asked when my baby is due by a stranger. We didn't even tell her we were expecting, but I guess it was obvious by the fact that we wanted brochures, and not from my non-existant bump!

Anyway she chatted with us for about 5 minutes and much as I was loving it, I was hoping she would finish soon because I was feeling so hot and exhausted, like if I didn't get to sit down pretty quick I would start to feel lightheaded. I am so glad I haven't had any faintness yet with this pregnancy. I know lots of women have it, and it sounds horrible. Maybe it's because I am so inactive that I haven't noticed any? Anyway, fortunately she finished chatting to us right after that and we headed straight to the car and came home. I was so pooped. Neil made me another Sainsbury's lasagna (those things have been lifesavers this past week!) and I nibbled my way through a bag of iceburg lettuce, which seemed to do wonders for my nausea - hmmm, a new nausea-aid?? Anyway we have run out of lettuce unfortunately as I ate the lot, and the shops are all shut now with it being Sunday.

I took a nap and now I am up again and have just had a pint of chocolate milk! :) I am feeling pretty queasy today. Last night was fairly grim, but it is making me soooo much more appreciative of falling asleep and the marvellous feeling of waking up in the morning and feeling better! I have been sneezing a lot over the last few days with what seems to be the start of hayfever again, and that is making my nasal-goo thing much worse which in turn makes me soooo much more nauseous to swallow it. Yuck. But hey ho, I am still here and still pregnant and soooo grateful for that. I can't wait for 12 weeks. It's like a magic date, even though I know it's not really. But I will feel so much better when I get there I think. I hope.

I hope my doppler arrives tomorrow. If I don't get a midwife appointment in the post I will make a doctor's appointment and try to get someone's attention that I am not yet having any antenatal care! It's supposed to start from 8 weeks and I still have had no appointment made. I am starting to have questions I want to ask and reassurance I want to hear from a health professional over some things, so it's bugging me that they haven't sent me my appointment yet, and I'll be 9 and a half weeks tomorrow. Tsk. Anyway, I hope to sort that out.

Oh, brown toast (NOT wholemeal) and marmite is THE business at the moment! It's heavenly to eat it. I don't feel remotely nauseous while I'm munching on it, but it comes back as soon as I have finished though. Last night I felt sick enough to resort to apple juice ice-cubes again, and it's amazing how they soothe my nausea, pretty instantly too. I don't know what it is exactly, but it's like the ice is so refreshing to my stomach. I am going to have some now because I feel pretty yucky.

What else? My breasts hurt. I am still constipated. I still have this marvellous little bulgy feeling above my pubic bone. I gave it a more thorough examination when I was less bloated this morning, and it's really quite rounded and firm. So cool! But it's wonky, which I'm not sure is right. It's more to my right side. Hmmm. I WANT A MIDWIFE APPOINTMENT!!!!!

And that is all for today! Hope you enjoy the ultrasound movie! :) I will update again soon!

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25