Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-03-20 - 7.35pm��previous entry��next entry

7 weeks, 1 day - Improvement, yay!!

I'm still heeeeeeeere!!! Yay!!!

Thank you all SO much for the guestbook messages and emails about the sickness, wow, I so appreciate all of your advice and helpful comments!! Katie, I am MUCH reassured by your advice! I am not on Phenergan, I'm on Stematil (prochlorperazine). And Mia, thanks for your tips as well! And everybody, of course!! You are all wonderful. It's always such a relief, such a weight off, to see your messages.

Well I am trying so hard today and I'm doing REALLY well!!!

Things are so weird. I am so desperate for food!! But swallowing and having things in my stomach are hurdles that I am struggling with. But ohhhhhh the smell of food is WONDERFUL, so I'm encouraged because surely if I was this sick through morning sickness alone, I would not be able to bear the smell of food. I dreamt about food last night. I was in a food place with a free food token, and I was eating hotdogs, chicken nuggets, chips, all sorts of things. I was making noises like Meg Ryan in When Harry Met Sally, it was THAT good to eat!!! hehe! People kept saying that they thought I was pregnant and morning sick, so why was I eating like that? I just said I was hungry.

What a nice dream! :)

When I woke this morning, I had my lovely suppository (mmm!) and after about 20 minutes I DID notice that I felt a little better - still nauseous but not so bad!!! Yay!! So I stayed in bed for a while and Neil brought me ice cubes - water ones, apple juice ones, and a few orange juice ones (the orange ones are the hardest to take for me). I had water with a straw in it too. I ate and ate through the ice cubes, stopping here and there for a break, and I reckon I got about 100mls of water and juice within an hour!!! Yay me! Then I went back to sleep for an hour or so, and my stomach was cramping painfully when I got up, so I had more fruit ice cubes.

Oh last night Neil had pizza - not that gorgeous type that you get from proper pizza places, just a chilled one from the supermarket that you heat up. But ohhhhhhh myyyyyyy goodnesssssss it smelt soooo amazing!!! He always has ham and pineapple on pizza, which I hate, but I could have swallowed that pizza whole if my stomach/throat would have let me! It looked so good too. I asked to nibble one of the crusts, so he broke me off three bits of crust with some pizza attached. I nibbled just enough to make a corner crumble, and immediately felt sick for the rest of the evening. I was almost in tears, it was such torture!! I wanted to eat it like NOTHING else, but my stomach was ready to throw it back up again. Silly stomach.

Okay then this afternoon I came downstairs and had more ice cubes, and even sipped some water!! A bit later on I sipped half a mug of milk (huge achievement for me!) and a little flat lemonade, and I nibbled at quarter of a slice of bread with butter on it. Then just now I had some sips of flat ginger beer, some apple ice cubes, HALF a piece of buttered bread, and I'm working on a half cup of milk again. At lunchtime Neil made himself mashed potato, corn, carrots, and chicken nuggets. I was making those Homer Simpson gaggy-with-desire noises (!!!) and I wanted to smell his dinner! Neil is being so sweet to me :) He let me smell his dinner in big lonnnng sniffs right under my nose! Hehe! Then he gave me like a dessert spoonful of mash with a couple of bits of carrot and corn, and one chicken nugget. I ate all of the potato though it took me a while, and half a slice of carrot, and 2 bits of sweet corn. I wanted that chicken nugget soooo much but I knew I couldn't so I just licked it, lol!!

I am really encouraged by my hunger, even if it's taking me a while to work up the ability to eat.

Neil just ate a ham and French (pasturised) cheese sandwich with salad - oh my gosh, I had to smell it for a while before he could eat it! Halfway through his meal I asked to smell it again, and I took a little nibble because I couldn't resist. No ham or cheese though, just the bread.

So yay, no hospital for me today! I definitely have to go back to the doctor on Monday because I will need a new prescription of these suppositories, so I will get my urine re-checked then. I hope hope hope it looks good enough so they don't threaten me with the hospital again. Does anyone (Katie???) know if today's eating/drinking sounds like enough to turn my balance so that I'm not acidotic or ketotic anymore? Or will it take more/longer?

Today I am desperately craving Pizza Hut deep pan pizza with tomatoes, cheese and mushrooms. That specific! I am constantly distracted by the thought. Neil offered to get me one, but I know it will just make me cry because this luscious pizza will be sitting right in front of me smelling heavenly, and I won't be able to do much to it. So I said no. Not for now. But I am sooooo having one just as soon as I am able to stomach it. I have been daydreaming about gulping down huge tall glasses of fizzy lemonade through a straw, and ohhhhhhh steak and chips!!!!!! My parents ate that for lunch today, and my mouth has been watering with joy at the thought ever since! But these are all foods I can't move onto yet, not for a while till my stomach is back in action for sure.

Well it's a good sign anyway, isn't it? No other symptoms to report today. I am thinner than thin, but I don't know what I weigh. We really must buy some scales that work. I am very weak still, but feeling so much happier since I am starting to eat a little.

Thanks again for the love and support and wise advice! I will keep updating as much as possible. If I do go into hospital I will try to tell Neil how to post an entry here, but if I am not needing to be in for long then I won't bother since I'll be back before you miss me (I hope!).

Will update again soon! xxx

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25