Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-03-05 - 9.52am��previous entry��next entry

5 weeks pregnant!!! Yay!!

Woohooooo I'm 5 weeks pregnant!!! I am one week late for my period. Yes, I know, it's all so early on. But the last week has just taken FOREVER to go by, and I am so excited to be out of the 4th week and into Week 5 of my pregnancy!!! I am also 21 days past ovulation, and I have a photo to show you of what Bean looks like TODAY! Yay, the first photo!! Here it is:

The bit at the top with the groove down the middle is the head end. Bean is about 2mm long today. The groove is the top end of the neural tube (the spinal cord) and the top of those two bumps either side of the groove will become the brain. Today Bean's two endocardial tubes will fuse to form the heart, and by tomorrow it will be beating. Yeah, I have been reading embryology articles and websites again! :) Who wouldn't though?! It's sooo fascinating and it's all about my very own baby, real time.

Thank you Heather and Simone for your guestbook entries. Simone, I cannot tell you how much I appreciate your honesty. You are absolutely right, I fully understand the jealousy thing and how I must be absolutely insanely unbearable to people still TTC!!! I know so well how that feels from the TTC side. Thank you for writing so honestly, it means a lot to me. I am praying for you that you'll be joining me soon!

Well guess what? I am ill. That sore throat persisted all day long, and by the evening it became an absolutely awful cold. I have not had one single virus or cold since September 2002 (!!) which is 18 months, so that is pretty good going. My immune system is very good (since I got healed!), so I think this is no coincidence - I know that pregnancy lowers the immune system. Oh well, if this is another sign that my body is pregnant then YAY, woohoo!! I am ill because my baby needed my immune system to drop a bit! :) Okay so perhaps my joy is starting to be slightly unhinged joy (!!), but who cares! I feel rotten, I slept terribly, I ache and hurt all over, my hearing is mucky and fuzzy, my voice sounds like gravel, my throat still hurts and I can't breathe, but YAY I'M PREGNANT!!!! :D

Also, if you have a cold or sore throat, try one of my favourite discoveries (pregnancy related, that is!) - take a tin of chopped tomatoes (unsweetened, mmm!!), dump it in a mug, microwave till piping hot, and eat/drink with the help of a spoon. That is one of my favourite things since I got pregnant. Sooooo yummy. And surprisingly soothing on a sore throat. Plus it's packed with vitamin C. It can't be normal tomato juice because that is sweetened, and I want my tomatoes practically sour!! I am sooooo off sweet foods, ever since implantation time. Thank you Bean, it's marvellously helpful of you! :) I am eating the healthiest I have ever eaten in my life as a result. Well, that and the increased appetite. My baby just seems to know what it needs and that is all I feel like - salad, fruit, vegetables, good carbs, and protein. Nothing else. So cool.

Although last night I wanted fish and chips. It was the only thing that appealed, so Neil went to get some for us. I did not get too thrilled with the chips, but Bean obviously wanted the fish, since I devoured it in no time and felt like I could have eaten 2 more!! I love my bean.

I have no backaches any more, and no periody cramps, although maybe a few miiiild ones yesterday?? I'm not sure though, my bowel is pretty mad, so it could have been that. It is formally protesting at the enormous changes in my diet lately, although I am ignoring it because it's only a matter of time till it realises this is what it always needed and shuts up!

Last night I slept really badly due to sneezing, post-nasal drip, scratchy throat, etc, so I got up early (knackered) and started my day. I am planning to pamper myself enormously today. I absolutely cannot stop being happy, even though I feel ill!! I think maybe it's the fact that I've reached 5 weeks. It's another milestone, and I can finally put the first developmental photo up, and tomorrow Bean's heart starts to beat, and I am just feeling so much more secure in this pregnancy. I feel great, other than the cold. Very few pregnancy symptoms now that the cramps and weird sensations have cleared up, although I am still peeing plenty (trying to drink even more with this cold), and I get the occasional ligament pain in my tummy, especially when I cough or sneeze. My period is not here and my chart says "Pregnant!" and woohoo, I am just on cloud 9!!!

Still no more spotting (if it WAS spotting). I did not temp this morning because I had been mouth-breathing all night, and also I felt kind of fevery so I knew it would be completely inaccurate. It's pretty much time to pack the ole thermometer away anyway. That feels really really weird, after all this time taking my temp every morning. I can't imagine NOT temping when I wake! I think I will start to temp sporadically for a while, and then just stop.

Neil absolutely cannot believe I am pregnant! He is getting more excited every day, and I get lots of hugs and kisses and excited squeezes and statements of obviousness ("You're pregnant!" etc!). He is so sweet.

Okay a package just dropped through my letter box so I want to open it and find out if it's baby clothes!!! The inventory continues - I am onto the 0-3 month clothes now, and I will start maternity things after that. I won some really nice maternity clothes in one lot yesterday at eBay. It all adds up, all this spending, but Neil says it's okay (at the moment!) because I am saving soooo much money on things that we will be needing soon enough, and would have had to buy full price otherwise.

So I'm going now! Oh I almost forgot - yesterday evening was my first completely happy worry-free evening about this pregnancy!!! Really, it was so different, after praying this new way, that I almost wrote another entry before bed just to say how calm I felt IN THE EVENING!!! Wow! That's usually my freaking-out time of day, but I was cool as a cucumber (albeit a hot and snuffly one) last night!

Today I'm going to rest up a lot, take naps, and watch Pride and Prejudice on video. Yeah, all FIVE hours of it!!! :)

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25