Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-09-23 - 12.52pm��previous entry��next entry

33 weeks, 6 days - midwife appointment :)

Thank you for the guestbook entries and the prayers! :)

I had my 34 week appointment with the midwife today! It went really well. Arthur is head down but not engaged yet. I was beginning to wonder if he might be engaged, because just these last few days I have been suddenly peeing a lot more, and I thought maybe my belly was a slightly different shape. But nope, he�s not there yet! She did say his head was �well down� so that�s good! He didn�t mind being felt, and his heartrate was nice and steady and normal. I had blood taken because I said how I�ve been dizzy and breathless and tired, so she just took one tube to test for my full blood count, so see if I�m anaemic. I have been feeling better though, dizzy-wise, so that�s good. Maybe it�ll be okay? My urine was perfect! Nothing in it at all, not even sugar this time! She said she figured I didn�t have my sugary cereal for breakfast this morning, and she was right � I had toast and marmite instead! I guess my kidneys just leak the sugar when I eat sugary stuff. My blood sugar is normal in any case. My blood pressure was fine (115/70) as ever. I had my last Anti-D injection (well, at least till we find out if I need another one when Arthur is born), which hurt but it wasn�t so bad as last time. I said ow ow ow, but then realised what a wimp I was being, since I will be in a whooooole lot more pain with the very same midwife standing by in a month or so!! Anyway I�m glad to have all the needly stuff over with this pregnancy! I don�t think I have any more routine blood tests now for the rest of the pregnancy, unless I am anaemic of course.

I did tell the midwife about my noggin and about the big nosebleed and how I�m having follow-up appointments at Big London Hospital, but I didn�t tell her what the ENT team had said about my homebirth plans. I did not want her to have a reason to go all unsupportive over my homebirth. She was actually really nice about the noggin and said what a nuisance it must be for me. I have had to make a billion phone calls to Big London Hospital to find out why they still haven�t sent me an appointment with their ENT people, and finally this morning they gave me an appointment for next Wednesday in the emergency clinic. Apparently I need to see the top docs but their top doc is on holiday till mid-October, so I will have to see a consultant at the emergency clinic instead. Which is fine by me, so long as they do the right thing for me and don�t gloss over anything important. The noggin is growing and picking up speed too, as it nearly fills my nostril again. Tsk. I wish they had just taken the darn thing out when I asked them too. I�m sure it�s going to become necessary, because it has grown back just 2 weeks after recovering from being cauterized, which is not a good sign. I can�t have it cauterized every 3 weeks till I go into labour. It�s too painful and it takes me a week to physically recover from the ordeal, and my nose is stained and weepy and scabby and clotty (yuck) for a whole week after having it cauterized. So that is no good for when I go into labour. But that is what will become necessary if they won�t remove it. So I don�t know what to do. I think it would have been best to have the surgery. If I still need to have that done, I am getting anxious because I�m getting nearer and nearer to my due date, and I need enough time for the surgical wound to heal before labour.

Anyway, I have been phoning AIMS all week but they always have their machine on, so today I emailed the chairperson with the whole story, and hopefully she�ll reply and I�ll get some advice on what is the best thing to do.

Today my midwife told me that if they have another lady already in labour at home when I go into labour, I will have to go into hospital to have my baby, because they won�t have enough midwives to send out for homebirths. I just nodded and smiled, but I have absolutely no intention of going into hospital if that happens. I have already read somewhere that I am well within my rights to insist that they provide someone to attend me at home, even if they don�t have the staff. Apparently the NHS is required to provide (at their own cost) an independent midwife if they can�t provide their own staff for a booked homebirth. So I am staying at home and refusing to budge if that happens. They are required by law to attend me if I won�t go into hospital. But I wasn�t about to hash that one out with my midwife at my appointment, since she would just get all defensive, and that wouldn�t change anything anyway, so I just smiled and nodded, and hopefully it won�t come to that when I�m in labour! I have asked AIMS about that too, just for extra backup.

My next appointment is at 36 weeks, at HOME � yay!!! The midwife is going to bring me a list of things I need to have for the birth, and I can�t WAIT for that appointment!! It means things are really happening, my homebirth is really planned, and it�s getting close to the birth!! I am changing doctors surgeries between now and then � have finally found one that I�m in the catchment area for! But the midwife says it won�t affect my appointments with her because she serves our area as well as the one I used to live in.

Well let�s see, what else can I talk about? I�m hot. It�s cool and rainy and windy, but I�m still hot and sticky. Bleurgh. Arthur is very squiggly :) My tummy is moving and lurching like a waterbed as I write this! He�s not going mad kicking or anything, just squirming about gently. I am peeing a lot more lately. Neil noticed it last night too. I can�t sit through a movie without needing to stop the tape and pee, and I am now peeing about 6 times during the night, which isn�t the best fun, but I don�t really mind it. My bladder feels pinched a lot now, and Arthur is feeling really quite heavy in my pelvis these days. I don�t have that sensation that there�s a bowling ball between my legs (!) yet and I can�t feel the pressure of his head when I sit down, so I guess he will drop even lower than this soon and those feelings will come then.

Ooooh Arthur got another gift in the post!!!! I am highly excited about it because it came all the way from Canada!! Thank you Andrea!! She MADE Arthur�s gifts � two of the thickest, softest prefold nappies I ever felt (they look like they are sized for an older baby, maybe 12 months ish?) and she also bought him a little baby vest aged 12 months, and ohhh she made him a blanket/quilt!!!! I cried when I opened it up because she had taken all that trouble to sew it herself, and because it has his name on it!!!! I don�t know why, but I am just so excited to have a baby item waiting for Arthur, with his name on it! Just seeing it sitting there in our living room makes the whole thing feel so much more real. I am having a baby. He is coming soon. I have a baby called Arthur. He is REAL!!! Look, someone even made him a blanket with his own name on it! It�s so exciting!! I can�t stop looking at the blanket. Here is a photo of Andrea�s gifts, just because I am that excited about them :)

Aren�t they beautiful?!! I can�t believe I have a little boy called Arthur. Absolutely can�t believe it. It�s too exciting and wonderful to be real!!

Okay, there's more to write but I have to pee and I need a drink and I will update tomorrow anyway because I'll be 34 weeks pregnant!!!! Wow! It's belly pic day tomorrow too, so watch out for a new photo in the gallery when I update :)

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25