Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2005-10-12 - 8.35pm��previous entry��next entry

Six weeks pregnant!! Bleurgh....

I'm six weeks pregnant!!! Yay!! It's starting to feel soooo much more real every day at the moment! :)

This will have to be a fairly short entry (for me!) because I am feeling sick. Blah. And when I feel sick, for some reason it always feels worse when I'm at the computer. I don't know why, but it did last time I had morning sickness too. Yes, morning sickness is most definitely here! I have felt sick all day today. I am doing what I learnt (the hard way) last pregnancy, and just taking worsening nausea as a hunger cue. It's hard to do that though! I feel sick as a dog even as I chew and swallow my food, urgh. I have eaten little snacks all day. But here is something new that I have found - all carbs taste HORRIBLY bitter!!! What is up with that?! I have the worst bitter taste in my mouth still from eating water crackers about 45 minutes ago. I need to put something in my mouth at least every hour today, or the nausea gets more than unpleasant. But I do feel downright carsick at all times. Yeurgh.

Also I ate an apple today, well, two bites, because it tasted overpowering to me. It tasted exactly as though somebody had spilled a very strong flowery ladies' perfume over it. It was awful!! I asked Neil to taste it in case it was just me, and he munched it all up happily, saying it just tasted sweet and appley. My hormones are making my taste buds crazy! I don't remember that from last time. When I have this bitter taste from eating bread or crackers, my mouth waters soooo much. Ugh.

BUT, it's not all bad with food! I am back on the salty things, for some reason! I eat a lot of cottage cheese at the moment, and seem to want cheese and milk a lot too. I read that the development of the major body organs requires a lot of calcium, especially the heart and liver, which are both being worked on big time at the moment. Plus I am doing this awesome thing where I am rapidly regaining the calcium in my bones that I lost during my last pregnancy and the early breastfeeding period. Women who carry on breastfeeding will have gained back their bone density anyway by 12 months, but if you get pregnant again before the full recovery time (if you're still breastfeeding), like I have, the body does this amazing thing of accelerating the calcium replacement in the bones, so that you even end up with more than before!! So clever. So maybe all this accounts for my big thing for anything dairy right now!

Okay Arthur just woke and I nursed him, but now my dinner is ready. We're having fish fingers and chips - something I really like! It smells great even though I feel sick, so hopefully I'll manage it fine.

Urgh, my taste buds hate me!! My chips are bitter, boo!!! And my peas taste like mildew, literally. Ugh. But the fish is fine (apart from the bitter coating) and so is the sweetcorn. In fact, the sweetcorn is WONDERFUL! Another thing that is wonderful to my taste buds and queasy tummy is Ben and Jerry's cookie dough ice-cream. Mmmm.... But anyway, I could hardly eat any of my dinner, as my tummy felt full and yucky after just a tiny amount, so I have brought my plate upstairs and I'll nibble at it through the evening. Well, until it gets too cold to be palatable! But I seem to need to do that a lot lately, in order to eat any decent amount of food.

Oh yes, so I am back on salty things! I had pickles in my cheese sandwich the other night, and salt and vinegar crisps with it! Yum! I have always loved S&V crisps though. Marmite is back on the menu, but it's not as nice on bitter toast, blargh! I need my carbs so I'm eating them anyway. But I hope the bitter thing won't last my whole pregnancy!

The doctor phoned me this morning to say that the Early Pregnancy Unit WILL see me, but not as an emergency case, which makes me feel better :) I'm glad they are seeing more deserving people before me! I have an appointment for a scan next Thursday, the 20th. I will be 7w1d pregnant, exactly 1 day more than when we first saw Arthur at a scan! I'm excited. But also still hoping that everything will be okay. I feel so much more confident that it will now I'm feeling this sick. At least I'll have that as my reassuring companion while I wait for my scan!

I have a lot of twinges and shooting pains these days, low down in my abdomen. Some of them even shoot right through my groin. I am happy about those because I know they are normal pregnant ligament stretching pains. I remember them well from my last pregnancy, and I was actually starting to wonder where they were at, since I started having those right around the time I tested positive with Arthur!

My breasts are still ultra sore today. Nursing Arthur is starting to hurt a little, but oh well. I wish he was old enough to understand me telling him to be still while he nurses, as that would help a lot! It hurts soooo much when he's wriggly during nursing - which is all the time unless we're lying down. Milk is still doing fine. No signs of it diminishing yet.

Neil is still off work this week, but he is going back the day after tomorrow. It has been WONDERFUL having him around to help more with Arthur while I have felt so gross. I am a bit worried about when he goes back! But I'll manage.

Okay I think that is all. I really need to update my other diary if I can face any more computer time! Then maybe I'll go to bed with a book and my plate of food!

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25