Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2006-01-01 - 4.27pm��previous entry��next entry

17 weeks, 4 days pregnant - It's 2006!!!!

Hello and Happy New Year from the computer at my lovely parents' house in France! :) I should sooooo be updating my main diary and NOT this one, but I am so excited about pregnancy these days and stuff is starting to happen and change so fast that I can't help myself!

Arthur and Neil are napping (they let me sleep in) and my parents have gone for a walk round the vines (despite it not being lovely weather!), so I grabbed my chance!

It's 2006!!!! My baby will be born this year!!! Yikes! We did not stay up to see the New Year in last night (too tired), but at dinner we toasted 2006 as an exciting year to come, and that got me excited like a little child all of a sudden!!!! Ooooh I'm going to have another baby, I'm going to have another baby!!! How EXCITING is that?!! It feels closer now that it's THIS year. Yeah, I did toast with champagne but only like a quarter of a glass. I sip people's (read: Neil's) wine too. I am not worried about teeny tiny bits. I never really drink any other time either, so a tiny bit here and there isn't a worry for me. I do avoid it more during the first trimester though, and relax about it more at the end of pregnancy!

Something has happened with my belly since we came to France (only 2 days ago!). I know it was obviously "out there" before, but if there was any part that hadn't "popped" before this trip, it has definitely popped now! I am bigger, but obviously not enormous because I'm only 17.5 weeks still. But literally from one day to the next (the day we arrived to yesterday), I felt completely different around my midriff! Yesterday for the first time, bending over felt achy and not-nice around my back and waist, like I had a bowling ball strapped to my waist all of a sudden. It was the weight more than anything else that seemed noticable. And the "all on the front"ness. One night I was still lying on my stomach to sleep, and last night I had a hard time getting to sleep because I simply could NOT lie on my front. And I did try and try! I could lie there feeling some pressure from my little bump for maybe 5 minutes, and then the small of my back would start to burn and ache like there was something pressing into it and there wasn't enough room so it was hurting. So I had to stop. 02.32320.3.002.3.3
..3

332222222222222222222222222222222222002020222002220220200.230..302200..

Ahem, sorry about that! It's now several hours later and as you can see, Arthur woke and Neil put him on my lap at the computer, whereupon he instantly typed the above digits and then pressed something that posted my diary entry!!! So, sorry to anyone who had my diary light up red in your buddy lists but found no entry! I deleted it straight away and saved what I had written to finish later! So now he is napping again and I have a teeny tiny window between now and our SECOND Christmas dinner of the season (the one with my parents this time!) - yum!

My appetite is really going up. I feel very achy and heavy walking up stairs (even just a few), as though Sprout is right out on my front now and so my legs are having to take my weight in a completely different way, which seems really taxing on them at the moment. I'm sure they'll get used to it. I FEEL like I am gaining weight now. My maternity jeans feel a little tighter around the bum than they did over Christmas. I am so hungry when it comes to mealtimes, I am definitely eating the largest portions of anyone at the table at the moment! I weighed myself this morning on my parents' digital scales (ours are digital at home too) and I am 8 stone 8.5lbs, so up 5.5lbs since a couple of weeks ago (I think that's when I last mentioned my weight?). My pre-pregnancy weight was about a lb lighter than I am now, but I went down to 8st 3lbs in the first trimester and have been there ever since. Soooo I looked in my diary for Arthur's pregnancy and found an entry for 17 weeks, 4 days (EXACTLY my gestation today!) and it says I had gained 6lbs in total by that day!! This pregnancy is sooooooooo exactly the same as the last one. Really.

I have a HUGE boy vibe now. I am still stuck on that dream, it just won't shift. I have had a less vivid baby gender dream since (can't remember it now) but it was a boy then too. My belly DOES look different to how it did this time last pregnancy but then that really could be the fact that it has been stretched out since last time. I don't know. I am so excited for my scan!!!! I can't wait to find out if Sprout is a boy or a girl!! And it's now THIS MONTH!!!! Wheee! We put a new girl name on the list today, and we have suddenly settled on a boy's name. In fact, that's another thing that makes me think Sprout is a boy. All of a sudden after that dream, I started spontaneously referring to Sprout as this particular boy's name, and it felt completely non-weird to say it. Even though we don't actually know that Sprout IS a boy yet! But anyway. One thing I remember from last time is how we didn't even know if Arthur was a boy or a girl yet (before the scan) but it just felt weirdly like we had always had a little boy called Arthur, it just felt THAT familiar and "right" somehow. So because of that, something in me just knew it was a boy. And it was! So I wonder if that's why I felt easy using this boy's name this time, because it's a boy again? Hmmm. I know I am going to drive myself CRAZY waiting for the scan!! ;)

I am really tired a lot at the moment. I feel achy and heavy and like my body is doing a mile-long walk when I am just walking from the bedroom to the kitchen or something! I think it is all to do with Sprout popping out and my centre of balance changing (like the going upstairs thing) and my body is just going to have to adjust to the different strains, etc. Not too much discomfort so far from my SPD-ish pain. I hope it stays away for as long as possible!

I have toothache. I need to find an NHS dentist so I can make use of the free treatment I get because of being pregnant. My dentist is private so I don't get free treatment, which I can't bring myself to do now that I know I could be getting it for free! So I should sort that out when I get home from France.

Oh I had more to say, but another day. Yummy dinner is ready and I am going to eat eat eat!! :) Back another time, maybe when we're home from France. Thanks so much for all the lovely guestbook entries and notes, especially all the sweet things people said in support over that guestbook message! :) *hugs*

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25