Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-07-01 - 5.50pm��previous entry��next entry

Scan results - we're having a.....!!

Ooh I�m sorry this is an hour later than I�d hoped to update!! Meg, you are so funny being all impatient in my guestbook! :) You make me giggle!

Okay I have been for my scan!! Everything is perfectly perfect and wonderful, and the very first thing we saw was the baby�s genital area (wide open for alllll too see!), and I am absolutely delighted to announce that Bean is a little boy!!!!

His boy bits were extremely obvious so there is absolutely noooo doubt whatsoever! The sonographer commented on how clear they were. We were looking upwards at his bottom from underneath him, and he had his legs apart in a sort of V-shape. In the middle of the V, plain as day, was a very sticky outie piece, you could see the scrotum really clearly too :) So we have a baby boy!! I have a son. I can�t believe it. We are so thrilled, and the first opportunity we got, outside the room, Neil said to me that deep down he had been hoping for a boy, and I have to admit to the same. We would never have acknowledged that if it was a girl though, we would have loved a little girl just as much.

But yay!!! It�s a BOY!!!! His name is Arthur Cameron. We are so happy with his name. We are already trying to use it more in reference to the baby, but it is a little bit odd to not say Bean. Sometimes we say Bean without thinking and have to correct ourselves! I can�t believe I have a little boy in my tummy. A boy. I am just the happiest, most blessed person around, I�m sure of it.

If Arthur had been a girl, it would have been Georgia Jane. We had a back-up name of Emma, because we love that name too and it was my great-grandmother�s name. We were very sure about Arthur, but we had 3 other names from our list in our minds, for incase we looked at him moving about on the screen and just totally did not get an Arthur vibe. Those names were Benjamin (my brother�s name), Matthew, and Jamie. But he most definitely was not a Jamie or a Benjamin. If we named him Matthew he could be a Matthew, but neither of us had any question in our minds that he wasn�t an Arthur, which we have felt for a month or so now, despite not knowing if he was a boy or a girl. We feel like we have always had a little boy called Arthur, it�s so weird, sounds a bit deep (!), but that�s how it feels. So he had to be Arthur. MIL doesn�t appear too thrilled with his name, but I don�t care, and my grandparents sounded kind of surprised and seemed to need to try it out a few times (sounding none-too-sure) before being complimentary (ish!) about it! But my parents love it to pieces, and they have done since we first fell in love with it and told them so.

Well, here are some pictures of Arthur! It is sooooo surreal calling the baby �he� and �Arthur�!! But I am trying to get used to it. It has really brought it home that we are actually going to have a baby. I still can�t believe it. Anyway, here are the three pictures � the first two are pretty much identical. They aren�t as good as we had hoped, but never mind. The first two are profiles, so you can see his face. The first one is a clearer profile of his face. The second one shows more clearly the little shape up in the top left corner, and that is his knee! He was curled up in a ball at this point during the scan, and had his knees drawn up onto his chest, so that little lump up there in front of his nose is his knee! So sweet :)

Then the third picture is a face shot. You can see his eye(ball!), and his little pointy chin (I have one of those!) and his mouth. You can�t really see his nose very clearly but it�s as cute as a button, trust me! Neil and I actually look quite alike so it�s hard to tell, but we think maybe he has my nose. We saw from underneath it at the beginning and it�s like a little pointy triangle, which is what mine is like too :)

ANYWAY, pictures!!....

Isn�t he beautiful?!! Okay so you can�t really tell that easily whether he�s beautiful or not, but I am already besotted with what looked to me to be a completely beautiful and adorable little baby! He�s so perfect.

After we saw his bits (!), the sonographer looked at his face to see if he had a hare lip. He had his arms up in front of his face, and his hands were sort of over his eyes, as if he was rubbing them. It was too cute. She jiggled the ultrasound probe at him to try to get him to move his arms, but he was quite happy! I told you Bean was not a performing fetus! Anyway eventually he moved one arm slightly, so we could see one side of his top lip and part of his nose. It was so amazingly clear, like 3D, but not actually 3D like a proper 3D ultrasound. His face was SO beautiful, I can�t tell you. Soooo beautiful. He moved the other arm in the end and he has a perfect face, no abnormalities. She did a long examination of his head and made various measurements. She showed us different parts of his brain and told us how they were all developing well and normally. She looked at his spine (so amazing, like a string of pearls only more beautiful � says she who is so unbiased, hehe!), and showed us how he has two kidneys, and three vessels in his umbilical cord (like he should have). She showed us his stomach and bladder, and the heart beating away. She measured nearly all of his limb bones which all measured between 21 and 22 weeks (spot on). She couldn�t get a good view of his feet though because he flipped over while she was taking measurements, and he wouldn�t move when she poked him about. She had me go to the toilet (which was nice since I had a bladder full of water!) to try and get him to move, and when I was in there I jumped up and down a bit. But he was perfectly happy where he was and he hadn�t moved a bit! She also could not get measurements of the heart chambers with him in that position, so we were sent for a walk and some chocolate, and she saw the next lady while we went off for a bit.

We took a walk round the hospital, and I ate two chocolate biscuits and did another pee. While I was sitting on the toilet, that�s when it hit me for the first time that Bean is a boy. I just thought, �I have a son!� and it blew my mind. Seriously. I still can�t believe I�m actually pregnant, so this is waaaay more than my head can take! ;) But it�s a wonderful feeling. While we were walking we talked about whether Arthur was definitely THE name, now that we had seen him. We both agreed that it was. Neil said he hadn�t realised how well Matthew would go with him, but he still preferred Arthur. And I just loved Arthur too, so that was that. We had a little jog, which is the first time I�ve done more than a sedate walk (!) in my whole pregnancy. Woaah that felt weird! It was like a bowling ball going jog jog jog jog against my cervix. Weeeird.

Talking of my cervix, I asked how long it was and she told me they do not measure the cervix unless an obstetrician has ordered it. But I mean, how hard is it going to be to just move the scanner slightly and tell me if it looks normal or not?!! That really bugged me. But she wouldn�t do it. She didn�t even look at the cervix at all, so I have no idea. But oh well. I will just have to trust God and presume that everything is fine and exercise as I want. I am 22 weeks tomorrow so we are getting closer to viability for Arthur, which is good.

Anyway then we went back and waited to be called in again. When we went in, the sonographer said the baby hadn�t moved much at all!! I couldn�t believe it! We had given Arthur a good talking to about moving as well! ;) Well as she was scanning things, the chocolate biscuits seemed to kick in and he woke up and squirmed around so much that she almost couldn�t get the right measurements because he was moving too much! He was just being squirmy though, no major athletic moves or anything! He was sitting on his feet like a little Buddha, only more so � almost like he was kneeling, but he had his ankles crossed under him. If he had been like that at the start of the scan we would never have been able to see his boy bits, so I�m glad he was nice and open at the start!

The sonographer showed us his heart, and we saw the four chambers really clearly, and the little valves all opening and shutting like little trap doors! She showed us the flow of blood in and out of the heart, which was so amazing to be able to see! Anyway his heart is looking normal and healthy, although she did point out that this scan can�t rule out minor abnormalities, just the major ones. She wanted to take another look at his feet before she finished, which is the only time we both felt a bit nervous, because she had seen his feet already, and when we had seen them on the screen, one of them seemed to turn inwards at the ankle like a clubfoot. But we couldn�t tell if that�s just how he was holding it. Neil�s family has some weird foot abnormality but it�s not clubfoot. It�s inherited though � his mum has it and her mum did too, and Neil and his brother and one sister have it. They all had surgery to correct it in their teens � it sort of gradually gets more deformed as the child gets older, so it wouldn�t be noticeable at birth. But anyway so we got nervous. But after a while she got a good view of Arthur�s feet and said they were fine.

Then we got given a Bounty baby pack (yay, I�m officially pregnant!) and the scan pictures, and I was told that I will now be seen every 4 weeks by a midwife � wow, I can�t believe I am this far along in my pregnancy already! My next midwife appointment is exactly 2 weeks from today, and then I have another one at 28 weeks for my next Anti-D injection (fun, fun).

Oh and my placenta is high!! Yay!! It�s on the back wall and looks normal and healthy, well away from my cervix. Phew! Bring on the homebirth!!! :) And Arthur has a normal amount of amniotic fluid around him � about a litre!!! Wow! No wonder it weighs so much in there. My mum says fluid is normally about 1lb per pint/half litre.

Okay well that is my update! More people were wrong about the baby�s sex than right! But I�m so thrilled I�m having a boy. I get to sort the clothes out now! I have the cutest girl clothes EVER :( But oh well, I have so many cute boy clothes too! And I need to make more boysie nappies. I made so many girlie ones in the first trimester because I was absolutely convinced it would be a girl � remember that?!

I did go to the cemetery this morning but I will write about that in my other diary eventually! I phoned my parents after we got home and scanned the pictures in. I had some trouble uploading them, and then I needed to eat because I felt kind of yucky, and then Neil phoned his mum and I phoned my grandparents, so it all took longer than expected. This evening I am phoning my brother to tell him he has a nephew! My brother is 25 and he was the last member of my family to be born! My family are so excited. They all said how a girl would have been just as wonderful, but they are so thrilled that it�s a boy!

It�s a boy. I have a little boy. Arthur Cameron. I wish I was happy telling you my surname because I think it goes soooo nicely with Arthur Cameron. But I�m not, so you�ll just have to take my word for it! :) I�m going to post this now (if Dland will let me!) so you don�t have to wait any longer to read it!

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25