Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2003-02-10 - 12.10am (11th)��previous entry��next entry

Buy and sell nappy forums are perilous to my bank balance!

Thank you to Debs, Mia, Sheila, Lizzie and the lovely Kelli for your guestbook entries! Thanks for being so excited for me guys. *hugs* I really really appreciate that you are. It's so nice to have people to share my excitement with! Sheila, thanks for the idea about Epsom :) I think I am too far outside their catchment area though. I am getting keen on a homebirth so that's okay :)

Just bits and pieces to write today. Hope it's not too boring but it's all part of the journey for me :) I had another pregnancy dream last night. Wow I am having a lot of those lately! I dreamt that I found out I was pregnant. It was waaay unrealistic! I was three weeks pregnant (!) and I went to the doctor who told me I was five weeks. This made me so excited because I knew if I was five weeks there was no chance I'd get my period (or something!). The doctor examined me and used a doppler and found the baby's heartbeat (which is odd since there is no heartbeat at 5 weeks! - hmm!), and it was soooo lovely to hear. The baby's heartrate was 128 - again unrealistic. But who cares?! It was a lovely dream. Right up to the point where I left the doctor's and told everyone and was all excited, and THEN I realised that 5 weeks meant I could get morning sick soon, and then the dream was not so hot, hehe! I got kind of scared, and paranoid about every little queasy twinge. I hope I won't be like that in reality :S I was on holiday too, near a beach, in my dream. Maybe that has to do with how I am going to be leading on the kids' camp (at the beach, not surprisingly!) at the time I HOPE I am 5 weeks pregnant this summer. Hmmm.

Well in more down-to-earth news (!!), I have finally finished my wheat-free diet (yaaaay!). It made no difference so today I started my anti-spasmodics. Can't take those when I'm pregnant so I want to try and get the IBS under control as best I can before pregnancy. On Thursday I get to make a dietitian appointment, but it probably won't be for this month :( I can't wait to see her - I want to ask her advice about some stuff for pregnancy. My pre-conception diet is still going well. Having said that I am eating not-so-great today - really pathetic on the fruit and veg, pfthth. But I will do better tomorrow.

I have become an addict on the cloth nappy forums at UKparents!!! Oh dear. But I am learning SUCH a lot from real mothers who use cloth nappies - not just looking at how cute the naps are (!) but also realising which ones are the most efficient and have the longest life, etc. Also wash/dry ability. I am totally addicted to the cloth forum. *sigh* Another potential disaster is that I discovered the buy and sell nappy forum - aaaaargh!! But, but...... our bank account?!! Hehe! No, I'm not that bad (yet!). But it is soooo addictive!! There are very good points though. I got advice on the best nappies for newborns (also what Mia said in my guestbook), and people recommend I use either pre-folded or terry-folded muslins (or terries), or just normal prefolds, plus a wrap. Some say prefolds don't contain breastfeed poo very well, so hmmm, I'm not quite sure what to do for a newborn yet. It's Honeyboys all the way after that! Hehe! Actually I discovered Totsbots which are fitted terry nappies made in Scotland - and EVERYBODY is raving about them at UKparents. They look super-gorgeous so I think I will buy some of those as a Honeyboy alternative. So yeah, the nappy buy/sell forum is dangerous! Heh. But now that I discovered what I need, I have already bought some wraps there. I got 2 white proraps and one Motherease rikki wrap with a whale print on it (yay!) from a lady who was selling hers. They are both velcro/aplix fastening. The proraps were unused! They were �4 each which is �3 less than UK new prices. She threw in another one free because she wanted space in her drawer for bigger ones :) And a Kooshies wrap free too, but I don't know if they're that good. Anyway, here is a photo of the Motherease rikki wrap, courtesy of Twinkle nappies - a fab place I discovered to buy cloth nappies and alllll accessories in the UK (will add to links page soon!):

Yay! So I will use wraps with um.... either prefolds or muslins or something, for my newborn. I will have to buy muslins, but they're really cheap - they are the same fabric as burp cloths. The proraps have a notch cut out around the tummy button, so the umbilical stump can heal open to the air - this is what won me over with the proraps as I was concerned about that.

Anyway, enough waffle about that! I am thrilled anyway. Four newborn wraps (and the Kooshies). I think this will just about be enough actually - now I just need to focus on the muslins, etc. I bought a Totsbots nappy today from the buy/sell forum - it's to fit size 8 - 18lbs so that one nappy should last me right through the baby's first year I should think. Unless I have a heavier than expected child! Anyway, I want more Totsbots!!! They are gorgeous. And extremely absorbant. Enough already!

Okay okay! Maternity clothes (is that better?!). There is also a maternity buy/sell forum (poor old bank!) - but actually it's great for the bank because yesterday I bought a pair of denim maternity overalls in my size (designer label apparantly?!) and a pair of Next maternity jeans that will actually FIT me (!!), with a stretch tummy panel - for �5 each!!!! On my finance list, I've allowed up to �50 for all maternity trousers I might need (need, not want!) and up to �40 for a pair of good overalls, since I had no idea how much they might cost. So this purchase is gonna reeeeeally save me money! The overalls AND jeans for �10!!! They are all coming in the post, once they get my cheques that is! This is so much fun, and so satisfying to find bargains too! :)

Today I cleaned the kitchen like I've never cleaned before. Actually I did a whooole lot more to it but I'll write about that in my normal diary. But yeah, the cleaning, it was soooo gross, but I just got hooked on cleaning for some reason. I cleaned and completely reorganised all the kitchen cupboards and drawers for five hours!!!! I changed the glasses to a higher cupboard and the food to a lower one, and reorganised the cutlery and so on. It felt so good to organise and clean. My parents came round and I showed them all the stuff I'd changed and cleaned. My dad kept saying how he couldn't believe I was being so organised (I never was at home!), and Mummy said to him all deadpan, "This is what happens when you start taking folic acid supplements." Hehehe!! I can't wait till the real nesting instinct sets in. But erm, I'm worried how bad I could be with the ole nesting, if I'm this nesty already, without the hormones! This evening our kitchen is beautiful. Painted and freshly tiled floor (finally finished!), which I also did today. I walked in to get my glass of water for bed before coming up to write this, and I thought, "This room is ready for a baby now" and felt so, like, at ease or something, about it. The lounge is ready too. Our room is ready. The bathroom is not quite. We need banisters on the stairs. The baby's room needs a changing station and a cot but that's all, it is otherwise ready. I even have a good idea of which cot I like, but there's no point buying it till mid/late pregnancy really. I want a moses basket and stand to go right pushed up to my side of our bed for the early months (Neil is all elbows at night! I get whacked enough and he doesn't have a clue WHAT he's doing, so I don't feel safe with a baby in the bed). I feel like as time passes, things are just clicking into place, click, click, click, one by one, in such a satisfying way, making me feel more and more ready in every different way to have a baby.

I just need a) to get fit, and b) a job. Then we're away. I am ovulating pretty much any day now so it is exactly six cycles till we try to conceive. It feels so right, the timing. I had no idea it would feel this totally "clicked in place" right. I have been impatient once or twice, but I know the time will pass quickly, and I know I'm not ready yet with my fitness. Plus the money from a job would be good. Plus if I conceived now I would have a November baby and I would really like to avoid winter for my babies. For one thing we have family birthdays allll over January and February, and Nov and Dec don't thrill me somehow. Spring is what I'm hoping for, so I will wait!

Yesterday we went to Andrew and Jo's for lunch. They have three kids. We sat watching while they served their six year old daughter her lunch and listened to the things she said - just random stuff. But somehow it warmed me. I thought, right now I can't imagine being a mother to a six-year-old who chatters like that and looks so lovely and comes out with amusingly grown-up things and knows so much already. But I want to get there, I can't wait to get there. I am looking forward to it. I felt all warm and fuzzy watching them, like the whole "I'm going to have a baby!" feeling again. I looked over at Neil and he smiled at me. He had the same look on his face too. It was nice, like nobody knew our feelings about that little moment in time except us - our secret. Neil seems to be getting more..... broody, for want of a better word! Perhaps this is sinking in more for him now. He told me tonight about a photo of someone's baby at work and how cute the baby was. Yesterday we were sitting in church right as the sermon was about to start, and Neil leaned over and said - right out of the blue - "You'll have to show me this cot that you like" - yikes!!! I was like, "Shhhhhhhhhh!!" because he forgot to keep his voice down and people were sitting around us, and I don't want anyone to know we're planning to have a baby until we are expecting. He was terribly apologetic - he totally didn't think! Bless. I really like that he's thinking random thoughts like this :)

I held George for 20 minutes at church :) He is 7 months old and gorgeous. His dad gave him to me while he put the band equipment away. It was nice because normally I stand around with a baby and talk to other people while I hold them. This time I took ourselves off to a quiet corner and talked to him and gave him all my attention. I walked him and showed him some bright coloured things in the corner and then things outside. Finally Phil came over and said I couldn't keep him! Heh. He asked if I am broody. I said I'm always broody, but I didn't say more. This lady at Neil's work has some weird vibe about when someone's going to have a baby. There was a guy at work a while back and she kept on asking him when the baby was due (?!), and sure enough it turned out his wife was pregnant shortly after. This week she has started asking Neil when the baby is due. Yikes.

That's all really. I can't think of anything else for now so I'll go. I meant to write a big huge entry in my normal diary but somehow it's midnight so I'd better go to bed. My bedtimes are not working :( I am too undisciplined! Tsk!

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25