Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2009-06-04 - 12:15 p.m.��previous entry��next entry

35 weeks, 1 day - homebirth, doula thoughts, etc

Craaazy time to post this as it's actually the day time so the boys are up and about all around me, and I usually have a self-imposed rule of no computer/laptop during their waking day. But, I switched it on to check the weather for today and they're watching TV at the moment, so I found myself here (when I really shouldn't be!). I am sure I will get to maybe the end of this paragraph and they'll make it impossible for me to write any more, but hey ho! I'll just finish later. At least Blogger saves continually so I don't have to worry!

I have so many bits and pieces that I need to write about here, but just haven't had chance to do so since my last entry!

I'm now 35 weeks! Nathan was born only 5 days from this gestation - my waters broke only 4 days from here! So, I know that Benjamin (totally official now, yay!) must now weigh about 5 and a half pounds and might be 18 inches long or so! He must look just as "newborny" as Nathan did when he was born, which just baffles me completely as I look down at my rippling, lurching tummy (he's VERY active lately!) and stroke it and think about him in there. Amazing.

The boys are all used to the idea that their new baby brother will be called Benjamin. Arthur talks to him through my tummy by name ("Don't worry Benjamin, hiccups aren't so bad..." etc), and Matthew pronounces it "Bemmin" or "Benjameeeem" :) Nathey has no clue, of course! ;) I'm less worried with each baby I have, about the previous baby and their adjustment period when they discover there's a new baby in the family! I remember being soooo worried about Arthur when Matthew was on the way, and of course that went SWIMMINGLY, so I then worried about Matthew when Nathan was coming, because I thought that maybe it was just a personality thing for Arthur, transitioning so joyfully, and Matthew would be different and have problems with it. But no! Arthur was the one who had more troubles after Nathan arrived, which surprised me. But I think that might have been more to do with the fact that Nathan was not born at home, and he was troubled by the fact that Mummy and Daddy left for a long while to have Nathan. And perhaps an age thing too?? My 1.5 year olds seem to be at an age where they accept a new sibling very happily, and there aren't any jealousy or insecurity issues (which I've read is the most common scenario, as the insecurity stuff sets in at age 2-3 in general).

Anyway, I'm not worried about Nathan. He likes to be the one being cuddled lately, and if one of his brothers is being cuddled, then he does sometimes stop what he's doing and come over looking slightly put out, and try to push himself into our laps whilst not-so-subtley shoving them off, ending up with HIM having the cuddle! ;) But that's okay. If he does that, I feel confident that most of the time I will be able to just lay Benjamin down for a moment and give him the cuddle he wants instantly, which should help him to realise that Benjamin's arrival won't change the availability of his cuddles (or Mummy in general, I hope!). Or cuddle them both together, which he will need to learn to get used to!

I had my late 34 week appointment with the midwife yesterday, at exactly 35 weeks. I have missed taking my 34 week belly picture, I've just realised!! Oops. Maybe I'll try to get a 35 week one and then another at 36 weeks as usual, even though they'll be close together.

Anyway, the appointment went well. My blood pressure was 104/64 and my urine was completely clean. Benjamin's heartrate was good and he was hiccuping while she was listening with the doppler, which sounded so sweet! He was also wiggly, as he very often is. She said his head is completely free, which it has been at every appointment so far this pregnancy. She said it was very high, and he could swing round to breech quite easily (way to worry a pregnant mama, tsk!), so she wanted to check his position again to be sure she HAD felt his head low down and not his bottom. It was his head though, and he's been head down for a good while now, even being high up and easily swing-able! So that's good. She also said he felt "a good size", which is GOOD but makes me wonder if he's bigger than average therefore! I asked what she meant by that, and she said, "Oh he's not huge" in an attempt to reassure me! If he's 5.5lbs ish like Nathan would have been at this stage, he'd be half a lb over average, so maybe that's all it is - that's what I'm expecting anyway, as all my babies have been (Matthew slightly less so, but still).

My next appointment is only 5 days away, the day before I turn 36 weeks. It's the "Birth Discussion" appointment and (big relief!) it's a home appointment. Neil is still going to ask to take a half day from work so that he can take the boys out to the park or something for the duration of the appointment. I will also have my Group B Strep test at that appointment.

Two BRILLIANT bits of news though!

I booked a homebirth! :) Of course they wouldn't say anything conclusive about it (though they wrote it down), because they were too busy being all negative with me about how I "will be" GBS positive and thus won't be able to have a homebirth if that's the case. *sigh*

Brilliant News #2 requires a big big thank you to Michelle and Jeannie, for the reminder/kick-up-the-backside about the existence of such a person as a doula! ;) I was interested about looking into it after that, as a possible option, but I didn't know how many doulas there even are in the UK, since I haven't really heard about it here, only in the States (and Canada of course, Michelle!).

Sooo, I googled, and found Doula UK! I read basically the whole site, and then used the "Find a Doula" search thingy to see if there were even any in the SE of England! To my surprise, there are loooooooads. Lots in the London area. All were a bit of travel away except for two, who live right here in the same area that I do! The other amazing thing about these ladies is that apart from living STREETS away, they are both Christians who attend a Vineyard church (basically the same kind of church that I do) and are friends, and very experienced doulas - also trainee breastfeeding counsellors!

I phoned the first one a week ago, but she had a message saying she was away till June 1st, so I decided to wait on phoning either of them till then. I called her yesterday (the 3rd, but I kept forgetting or not having time!) and OH MY GOODNESS, I am just in awe of God and his amazing provision. We talked on the phone, then she emailed me two lots of stuff (including a ton of GBS info), and I emailed her back with a million questions. She phoned me back and we chatted, and arranged for her to come round to meet Neil and I that very evening!

When she arrived yesterday evening, I instantly felt at ease with her, like I have known her for a very long time. Her voice is soothing to my ears and she's just lovely. She's excited that we're Christians, and gave me a ton of Bible verses along with the other usual info! She asked if I'd read Spiritual Childbirth and that amazed me too - I have it on my shelf (thanks to Meg!) and was really inspired by it. She is eager to pray with me through labour. She is an extended breastfeeder herself. There's so much more I want to say about her, but I haven't got time right now - boys are doing things that they shouldn't and I need to make lunch. Her name is Heather, and she is so totally HIRED! ;) We paid the deposit and signed the contract last night, and now I am under her care. She will fight my corner re. homebirth with GBS if needed (what a RELIEF!) and I just feel so overwhelmed with gratitude to God for her. At one point she said something about prayer, and I said, "I can't believe we've found you!" sort of as a humourous/happy thing, but was surprised to well up with tears right after I said it.

I'm SO HAPPY to have a doula! Thank you so much to the girls who suggested it here, I really appreciate it so much. I'll write more on it another time, but I have to go for now! Just wanted to say about those lovely things!

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25