Alice�s Pregnancy
Journal

Sign guestbook

Leave me a note

Email me

My profile

Old Diary (sheepdip)

Older entries


Arthur's Mummy's Diary

Arthur's Belly Gallery

Arthur's Ultrasound Gallery

Arthur's Birth Story


Matthew's Belly Gallery

Matthew's Ultrasound Gallery

Matthew's Birth Story


Nathan's Belly Gallery

Nathan's Ultrasound Gallery

Nathan's Birth Story


Benjamin's Belly Gallery

Benjamin's Ultrasound Gallery

Benjamin's Birth Story


My Fertility Friend Chart

Diaryrings

Pregnancy Links

Mia's Cloth Diapering Site


Site Meter

hosted by DiaryLand.com

2004-04-24 - 11.38am��previous entry��next entry

12 weeks, 1 day - cupcakes!

I love, cherish and adore Safeways. Yesterday I went to the local high street and visited 3 corner shops, Woolworths (desperation!), Iceland, Waitrose and Safeways. The last place I went was Safeways, and by then I had walked a fair way and my bladder felt like someone was pinching it, it was so sore to walk with it feeling like that. Anyway I waddled into Safeway and lo and behold, riiight at the back corner with some other cakes in boxes..... Lyons. Chocolate. Cupcakes. Ahhhhhhh (biiig sigh of relief!!)!!! I felt like I would like to clear our their stock, but I thought it might be better just to buy 2 boxes and come back for more if necessary. So far my cravings don't seem to last for ages, it's like I just need those things when I need them, and after I've eaten them for a while I'm done. So I bought 2 boxes and a bottle of Evian (trying to keep my water up incase the pinchy bladder feeling was a UTI), and I waddled back to the car.

Oh except I did go into Boots and ask the pharmacist if Rennies are safe antacids for use in pregnancy. They were soooo nice and helpful and they weren't that busy so one shop assistant read out the ingredients to the pharmacist and then she okayed them for me :) Yay! They recommended Gaviscon when I asked at first, but I said it is gross (which it is!). Rennies seem to really work for my heartburn so I'm glad to have the official OK.

Thank you everyone for your congrats and for your help with the cupcakes! Meg, I can't remember if Safeway had lemon and orange ones (everything else in the surroundings faded into white light as I saw my chocolate cupcakes, hehe!), but Poppy left a website addy in my guestbook where you can buy "British corner shop" groceries and have them shipped ANYWHERE in the world!! And I know they sell orange and lemon cupcakes - �2.10 a box plus postage. (Thank you Poppy! I will use that as my back-up!)

While we're on the subject of disappearing groceries though - has anyone noticed that the entire country has become bereft of Dolly Mixture?!! Where is all the dolly mixture?!!! I looked everywhere for it, and I've been looking for much longer than I've been pregnant, even in HUGE service places that you stop at on the motorway. No dolly mixtures. They're not even sold in pick-and-mix places either. Is this not weird? I like Dolly Mixture, and the last time I wanted some it was everywhere for the taking. Where has it gone?!! If you know or have easy access to some, please tell me!!! (not that I need to be eating all that sugar at the moment!)

Also thanks to everyone who let me know the old wives tale about heartrate was FALSE for them! Wow, there's quite a few people out there who prove it wrong, so I will have to suck it up and wait and see whether Bean is a girl or a boy at the ultrasound. I hope she/he co-operates. We both want to find out the sex at the 20 week scan if possible.

Yesterday evening I had a horrible headache that wouldn't go away. I think it was congestion because I've had a bit of that since about a week after I found out I was pregnant. Mostly it's just goo in my throat, and that's still there (but at least it's not nauseating me quite as much!), but lately I've felt a lot more congested and stuffy in my head. I think maybe that's to do with the increased blood volume. My book says you can get more headaches and stuff like that when you have all that blood in your system. I should read my chapter on the fourth month, since I am 1 day into it!! :) I like to wait till I'm there to read the next chapter, it's more exciting that way! But I should read it - it has a load of things that I'm usually already experiencing so it would be helpful to read about what to expect.

Last night I was lying on my back in bed and I was less bloated than normal so my tummy was sort of curving in a bit just above my hips. I like when it's like that because that's the way it's most easy to notice my womb. It suddenly rises up like a firm little wall out of the flopping-in tummy. It starts about an inch above my hairline, and if I'm lying on my back like that, you can REALLY feel it just by placing your hand on top of it. It's like a warm little mound, and it feels like the top of a grapefruit, about that size.

Anyway Neil got in bed, and I said, "Feel my womb!" Now, he is used to me making him prod about and he HATES prodding, he says it makes him squeamish like he might hurt the baby, no matter how much I reassure him that the baby is WELL cushioned and could take a hard knock where he's gingerly poking, and not be harmed. But he's still funny about it. Tsk!

Anyway he reached over but he was busy saying, "I don't want to prod about" and I said, "You won't have to" and it was so funny because he was reaching out to lay his hand where I showed him, but still raving on saying, "But prodding isn't - OH MY GOODNESS!!!" when he laid his hand there and instantly felt a really obvious womb without even putting any pressure there! He was so surprised! It was another one of my favourite moments so far :) He was really amazed :)

I had a dream that my mum had a baby. She and daddy went to the hospital. I couldn't go with them because I was having to rest, being hugely pregnant myself. It was so weird. Their baby was a boy and they called it Noah. At first the birth went well, but then it was like a computer game that you don't save so you have to play it through again, and this time there's a different outcome, and the baby died. My mum just got dressed and came home to look after me and get me ready for the birth of MY baby. I was so worried because surely she needed to grieve. But it was a weird dream. I notice that my mum has been in every single dream I have had, in some way, since I have been pregnant. Sometimes it's obvious that the dream is about me growing up and taking on a new role (having this baby), and other times it is clear that mummy is representing the baby I'm going to have, in that I feel responsible for her and love her so much. It's strange how she is in every single dream though. We ARE very close, and we speak on the phone every day for ages. I told her she's in all my dreams but she can't think why either. I love Mummy :)

Yesterday we were on the phone and she said how are you doing? And I said I had a bad headache. So she said to lie down and close my eyes while I spoke to her. I lay down on the sofa and instantly had horrible heartburn! So I said now I've got heartburn. She said, "Bean! Give Mummy a break!" and it took me a moment to realise she didn't mean her when she said the name "Mummy". She meant me. Me. Me - a mummy. Wow. It was extra weird to hear it from my own mother's lips.

Well it's the most GORGEOUS weather, more summery than spring, and I plan to go out in it now that I am feeling a bit better. Yesterday evening I felt really sick, so I still haven't had any evenings without nausea, but the daytime is so much better. I feel kind of queasy at the mo, but that's a walk in the park compared to the all-out nausea I was having before. Hmmm.... a walk in the park... what a good idea! I think I will do that. Neil has gone to work today (on a Saturday) to study for an assignment. He can use the software at work for his study so he goes in at weekends when he has assignments to do for his MSc. But I miss him :( And it's soooo nice today that I was hoping we could go out together and maybe have a picnic in the park like we used to when we were dating (ahhh!). But I know his study is important, and we have the whole summer ahead of us.

I have had a banana for breakfast and a glass of water, so now I am going to top that up with something more filling! :)

Have a great weekend everyone! Hope the weather is this good where you all are!

Recent entries.....

Babies 7 and 8! :) - 2016-01-10
Babies 6 and 7! - 2013-02-17
Baby #5 !! - 2010-04-03
Nearly 3 months postpartum! - 2009-10-05
6 weeks old already! - 2009-08-25